Motivation logo

Don’t Let Anything/Anybody Stand In Your Way

Make Your Dreams Happen

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Don’t Let Anything/Anybody Stand In Your Way
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

My mom was not just “mom”, she truly was my role model, my mentor and most of all “The Leader Of Our Family”.

Determined at a very young age, my mom would volunteer her time at the local hospital. Compassion for others of all ages, her dreams of being a nurse began long before she took time to help others in many ways.

After the Second World War, mom would help make bandaids and roll them. Sterilize jars for Intervenious containers. Help nurses anyway she could, most of all check in on patients of all ages.

When she finally started working full time, she worked various places throughout the hospital.

Her favourite place to go was the pediactric floor. Caring for the young. After she was done her shift for the day, she would go and sit with patients, so parents could have a break.

She told me there was a serious car accident in 1953, on the outskirts of the city. Two parents and small infant past,their car slid on ice and went down over a cliff.

Staying on that night, they brought a two year old girl, the only living person from the wreckage. In serious condition, mom sat holding her hand and praying at her bedside.

When the young sweet girl woke, crying for her mommy. My mom comforted her and sang to her.

By CDC on Unsplash

The gentleness, loving mom she was to me showed not only at home, but also in everything she did in life.

Mom worked on other floors, always checking in on the little girl. One afternoon while mom was on break, her name was being called over the intercom, stat come to the paediatric floor.

Rushing in fear, mom ran as fast as she could. The sweet child couldn’t eat, due to trauma from the accident. Mom looked at her, she gave back a great big smile. Trying hard to reach for mom, mom went to her. A tube feed was put in, mom cleared her day. Holding the sweet child, comforting her by singing. Only at ten o’clock that night ,that sweet little girl past to be with her family.

For years, mom put a cross in the spot of the accident , with a blue teddy and a pink teddy and a really pretty heart. Mom knew they were all happily together again and no suffering.

I am so proud of my mom, her compassion for others, for life and always reaching high to set her goals. A life lesson she taught all three of her daughters.

Don’t let anybody ever make you feel less of yourself. Try to do the best you can. I guarantee one day all your dreams will come true.

By Thiébaud Faix on Unsplash

Looking Up -Proud As Can Be -My Mom Truly Saved Me

We seen my mom, conquer and do so many amazing things. A fashion designer from her home (wedding gowns, baton and tap costumes, coats).

Going out in the community to help the elderly, from pedicures to giving ladies perms.

I know I don’t just speak for myself, my sisters and I were truly blessed to have our mom, show us the way. Teach us fantastic coping skills but most of all, she believed in each and everyone of us.

Mom had stage four cancer of the blood, only a short time to live. As strong as she was she fought to live, for my dad and for her family. It went away and she continued to live another ten years.

The days before she past, I read my poetry to her. I can still see her eyes lighten up with passion. Reaching for my hand, she asked me to never stop writing. Share with the world, your writing is amazing.

Hearing those words in my mind enlighten me to continue writing, to never stop doing things for others. Most of all put myself and my goals first.

A picture of my mom on my desk, her favourite poems I wrote, encourages me to keep reaching for the stars.

Thank you mom above, I will never stop doing and trying everything you enlighten me to do. I miss you and love you.

My poetry I wrote that my mom loved.

success
Like

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.