Motivation logo

Don’t Expect Me to Come Out of Quarantine Skinny

I thought about it, but I'm too tired.

By JennyBPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by: Martin Slavoljubovski/Shutterstock

With everyone out of work due to being quarantined, you might think this is an excellent opportunity to work on your goals, such as starting a business, remodeling your house, spring clean or my goal of becoming skinny by losing weight.

It seems like we have all this time to devote to accomplishing our goals since we don’t know how long we’ll be out of work, but the truth is we don’t have that much time.

Now that we think we have all this “free time,” it seems like we get stuck doing everything except work on our goals.

Parents now must help their kids with their schoolwork since all the schools are closed. That gives us a new appreciation for everything the teachers do since that shit is hard.

People go panic shopping after every live broadcast involving the virus.

I’ve been stuck cleaning up my room, which I won’t deny that having a clean room boosts your mood and makes you feel better.

We realize that our situation is a lot harder than we thought it would be, which brings us down.

I’ve been wanting to lose weight for a very long time and thought my time being quarantined would be a great time to start.

Well, I’ve been out of work since March 25th and haven’t even tried to work on losing weight. I could have been working on my goal for two weeks but never did.

There’s a saying I’ve heard before that says, “if you truly want something, then you would do everything in your power to get what you want, or you don’t want it as much as you say you do.”

I’m paraphrasing, but you get the point.

Maybe that saying is right, and perhaps I don’t want to lose weight as much as I claim I do.

All I know is that if I don’t come out of this quarantine skinny, then that’s okay! I refuse to beat myself up for not accomplishing my goal while being quarantined or any other time. We must allow ourselves to take a break and relax, it’s not the end of the world, even though it may seem like it.

We’re too hard on ourselves.

We need to stop pointing out every flaw we see in ourselves, and we need to stop picking our self-esteem apart, to the point that it’s nothing.

My chronic pain makes it hard for me to exercise since it hurts, and sometimes after a workout session, I get a pain flare-up.

When that happens, I need to go easy on myself. All chronic pain sufferers need to go easy on themselves when they can’t do something due to their pain because it’s not their fault.

So, don’t expect me to come out of this quarantine skinny, I thought about it, but I’m too tired.

If by the chance of a miracle, I do come out of this quarantine skinny or skinner, then hot damn! If I don’t, then damn that sucks!

But no matter what, it’s okay. It’s time that we permit ourselves to be okay when things don’t go the way we planned or hoped for.

Again, it’s not the end of the world. We’ll be alright.

We must learn to adapt to the changes that happen in life. If we don’t, it will be a lot harder to adjust.

Everything happening right now might be our new normal, it might not.

Either way, we must always go easy on ourselves and know it’s okay to freak out once in a while or feel uncertain about things.

It’s okay if you didn’t get a chance to do the things you wanted to do during your quarantine, you still have your whole life ahead of you to accomplish your goals.

So, don’t forget to take a break, relax, and be kind to yourself, because life will get better over time.

goals
1

About the Creator

JennyB

Freelance content writer and blogger of self-help and personal development articles. 3X Sepsis survivor living with chronic pain and chronic illness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.