Motivation logo

Doing Nothing Gets You Nowhere

Well, Here Goes Nothing

By Z-ManPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I don't have anything to say, honestly. But I've made the decision to be here and give it a go, so we'll just see what happens.

I get up and stretch, looking out the window at my car, parked outside with its cues, awaiting review.

I sip the instant coffee in my skeleton mug, one of a set of four, this one revealing the upper chest and shoulders to the head.

I gaze around my room at the items that adorn it in the careless fashion of last night's detached finale.

Today is a day like any other: a day that should be bigger than it amounts to be, I'm not just sure of it, I know it.

Head in palm, I've folded back in my chair, the necessary "evil" that will bring my hands to the keys once again.

Why in the hell are we born into this world, just to be forced to do anything of worth just to live?

This coffee is as pitch black as the insides that direct and churn it. Not for character's sake, surely, but for the absence of light within. The character of my black coffee, of course, is unblemished.

I'm confident this article will contribute little or nothing to my current state of affairs. After all, my survival out of passion is in that instance dependent on your own, is it not? I meant your passion, but your own survival is quite more determining than that, isn't it? Passion is dear, but passion, in these days, does not get the motors running in perpetuity. In these days, too many sparks are snuffed out. Perhaps even in the fires that blossom out of them.

You know, if I didn't have my family, wasn't hesitant about using public bathrooms, wasn't hesitant to shower on the road, had a laptop, and so forth, I may just leave this town and find survival along the road to...wherever. That is, until that wherever becomes a home.

It's amazing how much life can cost when you're just standing still, isn't it?

I scroll up and realize, as before: funny how little space a 600 word minimum appears to take up. It is a fact that I know well: our outcomes hold little to our experiences and resourcefulness nurtured come the finish line.

There is beauty in symmetry. Well, not symmetry: the relationship in space between one object and another. The idea of perfection is nice, but the reality of perfection is even sweeter. After all, to me, perfection is the sum of imperfection.

If it's not obvious by now, I find beauty wherever I go. Ask me and I'll fashion notion after notion for you. I'll make notes at every point in my journey through life possible. I'll be there for you when you have not found yourself there quite yet. They say one man's trash is another man's treasure. But I know in my heart what I see is not so. I see the undercurrents of the Universe very often as I perceive and ponder, and not a day goes by where I don't rejoice in what I have found.

For me, music opens a fair share of those doors. As music and image blend, synthesized outcomes feed my senses.

Comedic elements, subtle no longer, shines through the thinning veil of limited definition, and at times I laugh quite hard.

Yes. I wish you could each be with me in those moments to see, too, what I have found. And I, with you, in those wonderful moments of clarity.

I can't claim to know the meaning of life and its kin without doubt, but I believe these are kin, in one way or another.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Z-Man

\m/,

Hello all! I am an aspiring vocalist, filmmaker + writer. I hope you gain something personal + inspiring from my work here. You are also welcome to subscribe to my YouTube Channel: Ad-Libbing With The Zman.

Thank You!

Zach

B']

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.