Geeks logo

Thrift Gold Review #1

3 New Albums + 1 Old Favorite Movie

By Z-ManPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Thrift stores are a treasure trove that many have lost touch with. Sure, I don't do a vast majority of my shopping at them--very little of it, in actuality--but there is no mistaking the wonder and even pressure involved in going there with a reason in mind.

For me, it's the CD collection that gets my motor running.

I couldn't tell you how many CDs I have purchased over the last, I'll say, ten plus years. Not just from thrift stores, of course, but it is my closest option most times now. Modern establishments just can't feed my hunger for the classics. Just about anything recognizable from the 80s is case for me to bite. I have spent moments that were, for lack of a better word, "painstaking", scanning the entire catalog any particular store that I am in has to offer.

Still, it is all a part of the fun, after all.

And, compared to the alternative of missing a gem, I'll take all the time that is needed to get it right. I'm like a statue in that mode, taking CDs off the shelf, holding them tightly in my grasp as the eyes move along.

Long story short:

I've got it bad.

No, not really. That's simply what I enjoy, and I'm happy to put whatever effort in is necessary.

To The Newest Members Of My Collection: Time To Get Your Review Started!

Prologueal Bonus: Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, Organisation

"Promise" is one of those tracks that I skip forward to time and again, and have blasted in my car probably as many times as I've been in the CD collecting game. And that is probably inaccurate, considering I've probably listened to the album a bit more in the month or two since I finally listened to it.

Check out their successive album, Architecture & Morality. The first two tracks, "The New Stone Age" and "She's Leaving": Powerful.

Now For The Main Attractions And My First-Listen Reviews Of Them:

First Up: Sting, The Dream Of The Turtles

The first track is part of a running joke between my sister, a third party, and I. It was nice to share the reminder with her as I started to play the album!

"Russians" was subtle instrumentally, and prominent vocally. "Children's Crusade" followed up, and not just sequentially.

"Shadows In The Rain" was a song Sting originally recorded with The Police. It was certainly a surprise to recognize the words, despite the I-can't-remember-but-probably-completely-different-more-jazz-sounding rendition here.

As usual, the title track was of an unexpected instrumentation. Very interesting. Probably a spiritual successor to "Behind My Camel" in what I would assume is a more approved light.

And in unsurprising fashion, the closing track is high energy, denoting album closure.

Next Up: Midnight Oil, Blue Sky Mining

To be honest, I've been swiping on my dating profile, so I've just been jiving to the album. I'm very particular which albums I listen to in general--I have a massive collection, but still have favorites, especially those I can only experience on YouTube at this time--so its hard to invest 100% of my time and concentration on new ones. But I don't have any complaints about this one.

If I have anything detrimental to say, it is that Peter Garrett really isn't the greatest vocalist of all time; namely when he uses his speaking voice. But I appreciate their works as a whole, so it is okay. Their instrumentation is at the very least great, and quite solid at times. I believe at least the published bands have their own unique flavor. And like I said, I'm an album guy. I try to have a heart, too, when it becomes more pressing to do so.

(Pressing. Now That's a joke.)

All in all, solid album experience, though. Check it out. Why not?

Finally: Midnight Syndicate, Born Of The Night

(I just realized that Midnight Oil and Midnight Syndicate both begin with Midnight. Didn't notice that until this moment. Huh.)

Now here is a band I have heard Absolutely NOTHING from before. But it sounded like a solid hit, so here we go!

Well, I finally filed my taxes, I'll give it that.

(Just kidding.)

Seriously, though, there were some highlights in there. I hung around my dating profile again as I took in the music mostly subconsciously. There was even a hidden track, it seems. Very cool. Well, an outro, anyway!

AND NOW....FOR THE!....

Okay, the Not-So-Grand Finale, but whatever. It is what it is.

...MOVIE REVIEW IN A NUTSHELL!!

So.

Nothing To Lose.

We meet again.

.....

OH, How I've MISSED YoU!!!!!

You hilarious movie, you. I love you. I only wish I had a VCR to play you with. Damn.

Well, there's my review in a nutshell for ya.

Stay Tuned!!

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Z-Man

\m/,

Hello all! I am an aspiring vocalist, filmmaker + writer. I hope you gain something personal + inspiring from my work here. You are also welcome to subscribe to my YouTube Channel: Ad-Libbing With The Zman.

Thank You!

Zach

B']

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.