Motivation logo

Does my love for craft mean am a failure?

My yarn and my scissors.

By Violet BluesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

During this age, technology has taken over and everything can be easily bought or done online.

If you ask any teenager, even myself, What is your hobby apart from scrolling on TikTok and Instagram?

We’ll say something like soccer or watching basketball. Which is great but does it always bring us pure joy or maybe some stress. It can bring both. I’m not a fan of sports , So ask if you ask me what is my hobby? I'd say I like cutting yarn and arranging hair for braiding. As weird as it sounds it brings me great joy, nobody would understand.

When I make something with my hands I feel confident and I just feel the flow of state. Sometimes it makes me feel anxious when I don't get the result I expected but that’s where I feel the pressure to try harder.

It’s easier to give up and fall into a trap. Most of the time I feel like I don't wanna start a new project again.

Let me tell you about my journey into crafting.

I’ve always followed the number rule in life, “Do what makes you happy”.

Everyone deserves to be happy even if it comes from doing something that doesn’t mean much to others.

I grew up in a family where big dreams only mattered, if you were not into Med school or law school it was useless.

Despite the fear of being a failure, I still choose to do little things that made me happy.

I grew up between four older sisters who were hairdressers. They designed different types of braids using yarn. Since I wasn't old enough to help out, they gave me a pair of scissors and a yarn bundle. I rolled it on my long arm and cut it in half, and organized it to be ready for work. At first, I found it annoying, but as I grew older and did it every day I kept getting new ideas.

Years passed, I moved to the USA and forgot about the comfort and excitement I got from cutting yarn.

I always kept my scissors with me, even if I didn't use them anymore.

Whenever I saw yarn bundles at Walmart, It made me sad actually, because I couldn’t pick them up.

Two years passed, I went to school, adjusted, tried a lot of new hobbies.

I liked some of them, like painting but I still felt like something was missing.

One day my neighbor asked me to bring her a bundle of yarn on my way back from Walmart. I was filled with excitement and fear at the same time. I rushed and grabbed it.

I asked her what she was going to use it for and she said braiding. I offered to help her out by folding and cutting the yarn. She agreed and we got to work the next day. I was so happy that I could help out, I didn't want the day to end. I was happy that I was able to put my creativity to work again. From that day, I convinced one of my sisters to start a small business and braid hair while I folded and cut the yarn for her. I started helping my sister out.

I had something to look forward to when I came from school and I realized it was my hobby.

Now that I know what I can do when I am feeling down, I help my friends figure out what crafts make them. My dream is to create a store with cut and folded yarn for hairdressers.

I believe everyone will find happiness no matter what. I learned the source of true joy, it doesn’t depend on circumstances as we’re told. Just my scissors and bundles of yarn to brighten my day. Take your time and give crafting a chance, it might be just what you need. I hope one day i inspire someone to do what they enjoy even if it doesn't seem import and to others around you.

.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Violet Blues

Hellow my name is Alice

Am a really nice person who likes expressing her feelings through writing

Feel free to send me anything you wrote and I will read it and give some feedback

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.