Motivation logo

Disaster can strike when you least expect it

I captured this image despite my injuries and protests by paramedics.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

There's a lot to say to a violent image as this. This image is to let everyone know that we can be as safe as we can be but disaster can strike at any moment.

You see in this image that it is dark and there is snow so you'd think that's an indication that it wasn't safe to drive. What you do not see is precipitation of any sort. It was a clear day and you notice that the car is not on the road. This car was pushed off the highway into the woods. In fact you can see that the car slid and flew over an embankment to this particular part of the woods.

An officer is actually looking into the car if you notice the "POL" located at the right of the image. there is also red color reflected off the front of the car to indicate that emergency vehicles have arrived on the spot.

The grill of the car and the bumper are now facing the camera mangled and maimed as the sheer force of an opposing car had crushed the the front end.

You'll also notice in the drivers seat area that the airbag had been deployed and the passenger door is open so there was a passenger in this car.

I will never forget this moment in my life. I took the picture with my cell phone not knowing if the image would be clear or not. I had 5 seconds to take it as I was being taken to the ambulance. The paramedic was nice enough to angle me to take the picture for 5 seconds. It was dark so there was a high chance it wouldn't turn out nice. Also, I didn't have such a great phone.

I was also still in shock at what had happened. It was out of nowhere and I was even driving a little under the speed limit. A car driving the opposite direction for some odd reason lost control of their car and drove directly into my car.

Seeing the car swerve left and right worried me. I thought they'd be able to correct themselves until I noticed that the swerving got wider and wider. It was quickly coming towards my car. I wanted to protect my girlfriend in my car but there wasn't much to do.

The only thing I could think of is slamming on my brakes. Winter driving prevented my car to slow down fast enough on a highway. Seeing as it was only one lane I didn't have the luxury of moving to another lane either. Could I have drove my car into the bank next to the highway? Would things have been different?

A ton of questions scattered my mind after the incident and I'm sure this happens to everyone that has had an accident. We all wonder the "What if's". What if I didn't go out to eat there? What if I took a different route? What if I had a different car? The list goes on.

The truth is that these things happen. No matter how careful you are there will be disasters. Trouble sometimes doesn't find you it just happens. You can't go through your whole life thinking you'll be safe. I accepted the situation. It happened, let's move on. It's hard to do especially in this day in age.

Today we always need to know the answers. The internet has made us into different people. We think there should be answers for everything but sometimes looking for these answers can kill us inside. Learning to let go and accept that bad things can happen has set me free. I'm able to drive again and pushed my body to work the way that it did before.

I was lucky that I was able to recover from this incident. Some people aren't so lucky. The acceptance for these cases are a lot harder than what I experienced. No matter what we have to accept things that we can't control. The past is the past and sometimes we just can't learn from everything. Things just happen when we least expect it.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.