Motivation logo

Defy and conquer

It matters not whether or not others approve

By Novel AllenPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
authentic me

What is authenticity. Is it the bravery of approaching the world with no makeup on. I never spent a fortune on buying the myriad of products that I believe does more harm than good to one's skin, and subjects your face to the mercies of the many and varied chemicals that may or may not be in the concoctions. I am assured though that they are really good for my skin.

Is authenticity forging your own path, even though everyone has some wise and sage advice directing you to walk in the steps of everyone else or be left behind in their proverbial dust.

Is it hearing the call of the wild and be headstrong and stubborn enough to enter the enchanted forest and chase your dream until you finally, and sometimes exhaustingly, catch and realize your own dream desires. Finally you can taste with satisfaction the delicious gold at the end of the rainbow, and sigh with relief that you stuck to your goals and achieved them, despite the wicked witch or the rancor and disapproval of many.

a smile lurks in the shadows

There is a sprite or spirit, or whatever we decide to color it, inside every one of us quietly whispering in our ear, telling us the correct path to choose to attain our life goals, and enable ourselves to stay focused on our assigned task. Designated assignations fashioned to assist us to reach that pinnacle from which we will be able to rest sublime knowing that we have arrived at the perfect destination.

Whether or not we stay still enough to hear it is completely up to each individual. If we choose to be calm and hear our still small, kind and soothing inner voice, we will be steered towards our full cosmic purpose.

Remember to always listen, even if you label your small voice as intuition.

I was in my mid forties before I really and truly found my authentic self. I allowed the varied noises of the masses to dull my senses and therefore, gave them permission to make me insecure in my own skin. I grew up in semi-poverty with many siblings, that was not a helping factor in the matter. In this situation parents were so busy trying to nurture our bellies, that nurturing our psyche got left behind. They tried their best, I am grateful to have survived intact.

It took a lot of pain and negativity to navigate the highways and byways of youth and young adulthood. But I endured and slowly fought my way out of the mire, clinging to whatever life saving branches availed themselves to my plight.

a plethora of knowledge

Everything came into stark focus for me, when a friend introduced me to this book,. written by Napoleon Hill.

It had always been on my book shelf, but I never got around to reading it. That was a mistake that I quickly remedied. My friend advised me that I had, by just owning the book, been on the way to greatness. I am great in my own way, but I took his word for it.

As I read this book, chapter after chapter (I must confess that I deferred to the audio book, made life easier), I found a deeper and more profound meaning to my life. I found greater acceptance of myself as an individual. I found the answer to many of my life questions along the way.

I felt my consciousness being heightened to way beyond horizons that I grasped, as a preserving lifeline, and felt deep within my soul. That I now understood my reasons for living, and needed to reach way beyond myself to envision what I could truly achieve if I only told myself my definite plans, and allowed my subconscious to make them a reality. I would realize what I desired.

I felt free of earthly limitations and gave free will and wings to my every demand. It is important Hill says, to write down one's desires and commit them to memory by reading and visualizing them on a daily basis. Your subconscious self will do the greater part of the work and ensure positive results.

I am by no means rich in money. That will arrive naturally, in it's own time. I am rich in the knowledge that I am free from limitations in the attainment of whatever I decide that I need to accomplish. That 'whatever the mind of man can conceive he can achieve'. I have a mind of my own and no one can convince me that I am limited to any other standards except my own.

I did actually quit my job and have ventured into the world of entrepreneurship. I am for now a fledgling, getting my wings, and enjoying every moment of it.

It is a really wonderful feeling this freedom of thoughts without boundaries or limits. I am working on my lack of smiles in every picture that I take. I now have something to smile about.

Anton Bozhina (unsplash)

Is it really one particular moment that defines a life change, or is it a beautiful cluster of many, that reveals itself in the quiet unfolding, much like a rose revealing its soft colorful petals in an awe inspiring, mesmerizing slow motion of beauty and wonder.

A book was my rose. The words were my petals opening my eyes and my mind to what was obviously already there awaiting release from my dulled senses.

I will not, nor should you, settle for just the norm, the typical or the standard. Great or small, reach for your interpretation of perfection, and follow through to your heart's content.

I am most emphatically doing so!

N.A.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.