Motivation logo

Defining a Vocal Tradition – Part 3

A VOCAL-ist of 90 Days

By Tim StiXPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
2
A Journey of 1000 Miles Starts with the First Step - Tim StiX

Putting an end to the Scam

90 Days In

So here I am, ninety days into defining a Vocal Tradition. With 19 articles and 13 poems, combining for a total of, 1064 reads and $6.29.

Vocal is definitely not a Scam

I have received money, in my Bank Account from Vocal Tips: $25.00 USD, or $30.35 AUD for my Australian friends. So, let’s put the Scam to bed. You can make actual, real money, on Vocal.

The Story so far

If you haven’t been following my Vocal Tradition Blog, this is Part 3 of the Series Defining a Vocal Tradition. The previous editions, followed Month One and Month Two of my Vocal Voyage.

The first 30 days netted me $1.01. The second, a little more, for a combined total of 365 reads and $2.19. Not monumental, I must admit. But a reward nonetheless, and 365 more reads than have been attributed to me elsewhere.

Why am I boring you with my Journey?

Firstly, I hope that I can make it as interesting as possible for you. But mainly, I would like to pass on any knowledge I have gained so far and encourage you to keep going.

My number one tip is to write for the joy of writing, and don’t worry about the reads and earnings. If you love what you are doing, it will come across in your articles, and the reads will come.

Some people start on Vocal and have hundreds or thousands of reads, in no time at all. Of course, they generally have a large Social Media presence and are supported by their network. But the majority of us don’t have that luxury and have to graft away for weeks, or months, before finding our niche.

Have I Progressed?

I was losing heart at the end of January, I just didn’t seem to be going anywhere. So, I took a break for a few days before starting again, with fresh ideas. Then I got lucky and managed to impress the Moderators enough to have Defining a Vocal Tradition – Part 2, selected as a Top Story for the day.

What a difference a bit of Curator Love makes! My Stats went crazy for a few days. Previously, my best ever day was about 25 reads, then I maxed out one day at 150! The hump was short-lived, but that article has netted me 251 reads and 29 hearts. Way more than my second best, at 71 and 3.

Flow-on Effect?

I don’t know whether there was a trickle-down effect from my fortuitous gift, or if it was just the increased number of articles, but my overall Stats have improved immensely. The last 30 days have gladdened my heart with a 332% change, in the positive direction.

But what really made me happy was receiving two tips. A $5.00 bonus tip, for the Top Story. And, $20.00 from an anonymous user for one of my entries in the Little Black Book Challenge, A Friendship in Image and Prose. I thought my first entry, Black Satin, was better. But who am I to judge?

The last 30 days has garnered me 710 reads

It may be a tiny number for some, but for me, it’s huge!

Over the mountainous M

My first major goal, after the initial surprise at the acceptance of my first article, was 1000 reads. Looking back, I have no idea why I chose such a lofty goal, after just a handful of views. But that image came to me as an immense “M”; the Roman one thousand. So, you can imagine my joy at reaching that landmark in under 90 days.

To top it off, the milestone came with a bonus of $5.00. Only digital at this stage, but five United States Dollars all the same, waiting patiently in my wallet for the minimum withdrawal amount.

Thank you Vocal

The new Vocal Bonus System places its gifts into your Wallet instead of paying out directly. I actually think this a great idea because it will make it easier for authors to reach the minimum withdrawal figure. So, I commend Vocal for the change.

You can do it too!

If you are just beginning or struggling to stay motivated and focused. Take a short break and just concentrate on dreaming up some new ideas. Then start again, with renewed vigour.

Whenever a new idea comes to you, jot it down in a notebook or on your phone. Don’t waste anything. While not all your ideas will bear fruit and lead to eye-popping articles; don’t waste any embryonic offspring, whether perfect or not!

Where to from here?

The plan is to keep creating, writing and enjoying the process. Maybe I’ll make a little money on the way, but that is not the real reason to continue the journey.

It is still early days, I know. Like a fledgling with damp wings, true flight is as yet, an unreachable dream. An objective, just too high to reach.

As with life, perfection is impossible, as nothing is faultless. But while the ultimate Article is paradoxical and infeasible. It is no detriment to trying.

The Tradition continues …

I will continue writing as often as possible, as I find it particularly effective in easing my mental health issues. A little scriving each day, keeps the doctor away.

As a comedian toils for laughs, we scrive for reads

Not necessarily the fame

No, just that someone, has interacted with one of our children

And hopefully, feels better for the experience.

Just remember, a journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step.

The Journey continues - Tim StiX

Tim StiX Mar 2021

Tim StiX is a Software Engineer with over 20 years’ experience designing, developing and maintaining Web Technologies and is the Developer and Site Administrator of www.101world.net and bok.101world.net.

Tim StiX is The Scrivener on Vocal .

advice
2

About the Creator

Tim StiX

Tim StiX alias Tim Styx. Manic Master of The Internet of Things and The Sober Bard.

www.TimStiX.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.