Journal logo

Defining a Vocal Tradition

One month in ...

By Tim StiXPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Defining a Vocal Tradition
Photo by Mohit Tomar on Unsplash

One Month in ...

Looking back over the last 30 days, from twenty-nineteen plus one to twenty-nineteen plus two.

What have I achieved?

I started writing for Vocal on the 3rd of December 2020 and my first Article was published on the 4th. Now, 30 days on, I have 208 views.

Not the whirlwind success, I was hoping for. No viral posts. Just a slow build-up, to a tiny following.

Disappointed?

Disappointment is not a word I would use, to describe my journey so far. The Beginnings of a Vocal Tradition.

To be honest, I started writing on Vocal to create backlinks to my Websites. A way to build Google Cred'.

The World abounds with Selfishness!

Yes, possibly a selfish, conceited, employment of a publishing platform. But with ten Articles published and a dozen or more backlinks. I am not disheartened in any way.

The Worm turns.

In fact, the backlinks are no longer important to me at all. I am really enjoying writing and challenging myself to improve with each infant brainchild.

Now, I make notes of any ideas, any seeds, that come to me during the day, on my phone. While building quite a list. I know that not all of them will show potential, inspire creativity or come to fruition.

But don't waste any embryonic offspring, whether viral or not!

Defining a Vocal Tradition

A planned thirty Articles in thirty days, was an assignment beyond me. There are two choices, two paths you can take on an expedition, in search of Tradition. Quantity or Quality.

The original, quantity, made way for, intended quality, as my new-found passion, took a left-turn into authordom! Is that a word? Who cares, it describes the change of focus, quite aptly.

Inherent Difficulties of Writing

While transitioning from writing Computer Programs to penning Articles, has not been exceedingly difficult for me. Publishing is another story.

Excited viewings of my babies on Vocal, at a later date. Tend to lead to frustration, as I notice one or two flaws in each. Unfortunately, spelling-checkers and even grammar-checkers are still not accurate enough for my liking.

Self-criticism. The worm of procrastination, disabling many a creative mind; while the early bird perches regally, digesting the fruits of its alacrity.

Artwork by Jane and Tim StiX

Concentricity or Eccentricity

While I have quite a large vocabulary, spelling and vector thought, were never my strong suit. One of the many side-effects of an eccentric, multicentric mind, blurred by mental health.

Hey, I’m not complaining. What it takes with one hand, it returns, multi-fold with the other.

How many inventive, imaginative, poetic Artists have led unconventional lives. Whether painters, composers, writers or forward thinkers. Quite a number of unusual personalities, come to mind.

Think of Vincent van Gogh, a true Uber-Master of Art. Talent that has not lost any of its insightfulness and beauty, in a contemporary world. While we know of his issues with aural appendages; he died penniless in 1890, at the tender age of 37, by his own hand.

An Inmate of a newly hatched Nest

It is early days, I know. Like a fledgling with damp wings, true flight is as yet, an unreachable dream. An objective, just too high to reach.

Artwork by Jane and Tim StiX

As with life, perfection is impossible. The perfect partner, the ideal house, the faultless machine. Have you ever found one?

One hundred percent and twenty-four seven and three-hundred sixty-five days a year. They are mysteries, riddles, enigmas, an impossible paradox.

While the ultimate Article, is also paradoxical and infeasible. It is no detriment to trying.

The Tradition continues

So, the plan is to move forward. Keep moving forward. Until the goal, the apex, the summit, is in sight. Never reachable. But at least glimpsable, from a distance.

Backlinks, viral posts and huge rewards are no longer important.

As a comedian toils for the laughs, we scrive for the reads. Not necessarily the fame. No, just that someone, has interacted with one of our children and hopefully, feels better for the experience.

The Beginnings of a Vocal Tradition continues:

Month Two: 60 Days In

Month Three: 90 Days In

Tim StiX Jan 2021

Tim StiX is The Scrivener on Vocal .

humanity
3

About the Creator

Tim StiX

Tim StiX alias Tim Styx. Manic Master of The Internet of Things and The Sober Bard.

www.TimStiX.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.