Motivation logo

Dare to Dream

Never give up

By E.K. SegalePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Dare to Dream
Photo by Lucas Ludwig on Unsplash

What is it that you dream of doing? Traveling the world, or visiting a country? Do you dream of being a pilot, or to captain a ship, running the next Marathon? The list of things are endless.

Everyone has dreams, not the kind we have while sleeping. These are dreams that are part of us, they are who we are. They are part of our very being. We think about them through all our waking hours. We talk about them with our friends.

My dream is to visit Italy; I have wanted to go there for several decades. I am fascinated with the beauty that lays over there. A small part of me is afraid I will be disappointed when I do.

Some people do not think they have a dream, yet they yearn for a better job, a better house to live in and just down right a better life for themselves and their families. These are dreams even though some do not think of them as such.

Keep dreaming and do what you must do, in order to live it. Continue your education for a better job. Save money for that special trip you are wanting. Sure, it is hard to do those things sometimes, but it is oh so worth it.

Ever since I can remember, I have dreamt of being a writer. In sixth grade, my teacher got us all started writing a journal. It was the school year after my stepmom died and I needed an outlet, I just did not know what it was or that I needed it.

I wrote a lot about death, not the morbid stories but ones that deal with real life. I was able to express my deepest hurts and fears. The one thing I never did write about was the anger. Most likely because I felt I should not have been angry.

I have found that the more I would dream, the more I would want to write. The stories are stacking up faster than I can put them to paper. Sometimes, dreams start small and over time they become bigger. In my case this one has.

In the same way, some people put words to music, or poetry. Some even find that theirs is acting. The list is endless of possibilities. My grandson is incredibly talented, but he always thinks about being a gamer. I do not know how far he will get with gaming. I wish him the best, although I do not see what kind of living can be made from that.

What ever it is that you dream of or enjoy. Do not give up on it, keep working toward it. I am still working on my trip to visit Italy. After decades of dreaming about it, I am still saving for the trip.

I have one big obstacle that is hindering my trip, the fear of flying. I know, not very realistic if I do say so myself. I flew on a plane when I was young and I loved it, we took off a few hours after the crash in the everglades back in the early seventies. I am also doing things to make my trip greater than my fear.

I watch movies filmed in Italy, watch travel shows that take you to Italy. I design everything I can with a Tuscan theme. I hope that by the time I retire and can leave for my trip, I will be able to get on the plane with confidence. I am sure I will when the time comes.

I know that I got off subject somewhat, my point in all of this is keep dreaming. It does not matter how far fetched it seems, it is attainable. Do not let fear put the fire out of your dreams.

goals
1

About the Creator

E.K. Segale

I began writing when I was in the sixth grade, it was a year long assignment. From that moment on, I was hooked. It became my passion to put on paper, what was going on in my head. I am a grandmother and loving life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.