Families logo

Joys of Grandchildren

Always Loved

By E.K. SegalePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Joys of Grandchildren
Photo by Piron Guillaume on Unsplash

If you are not a parent yet, or have just started having a family. When you hear the word grandparent, what comes to mind? I'm not going to enjoy being a grandparent, that'll mean I am old. I used to think the same way, until I had them

More then seventeen years ago, I was helping a friend by watching her daughter who was about eight years old. She and I was walking on day and I told her, "I hope one day that I'm blessed with a granddaughter, I hope she will be just like you." We held hands and walked to her house and enjoyed the afternoon.

On a beautiful day in August 2003, my oldest son married her mom. After the wedding, when things started to quiet down. I went to her, hugged her and as I did, I reminded her of what I had said. We looked at each other and smiled and hugged some more.

She is an adult now, and I love spending time with her. We don't get to see each other as much as I'd like, but we are only a phone call away. She is my first grandchild, it was also made legal when my son adopted her. She always has been, and always will be, the apple of my eye.

A little over a year later, my first grandson come along. When I went to the hospital and first laid eyes on him, it did something to my heart. I started to cry and I just knew there would be an unbreakable bond there. That little guy is now six feet tall and just sixteen, and when ever he walks by me, he will bend down and kiss me on the head. It is those little things that warms an old heart.

In the meantime, my youngest son had gotten married and after a few years they had a little girl. She will be turning six in a few months and I love being able to get girly things for her. I miss her like crazy, because they live on the other side of the world. It warms my heart every time when I hear her say "Hi Granma" or "I love you Granma"

I was never able to get them because I never had a girl of my own and my first granddaughter was too old to spoil with girly things. Also she was a tomboy and she still is to a certain extent.

My oldest son and his wife adopted a little boy, and he is such a cutie. He just turned six and boy does he have the attitude. He loves trains and big trucks, along with building thing with his Legos. I love taking him on trips, and his favorite kind are when we go on the train. His K teacher just loves him, and he has made several friends so far.

Being a grandparent is the most wonderful thing of all , I loved being a mom, and still do. I miss my boys being little most times. However, grandchildren is the icing on the cake. I love seeing my boys say things to their littles, things that I used to tell them. It makes all the hard years worth it all. I don't feel old at all, in fact they energize me, sometimes to the point of wearing me out. I would not trade it for any thing in the world.

If you want to take it one step further, I am looking forward to being a Great Grandparent. I am, sort of, my granddaughter has a cat. I guess he could be my great grand kitty. My oldest son and his family just got a puppy, and I refer to myself as grandma when I snuggle with her. So, life it what you make it. Live with no regrets and be too blessed to be stressed.

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

E.K. Segale

I began writing when I was in the sixth grade, it was a year long assignment. From that moment on, I was hooked. It became my passion to put on paper, what was going on in my head. I am a grandmother and loving life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.