Motivation logo

Created With a Hook

By Jesika Lightfoot

By Jesika RhodesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
A custom creation created by myself

It was 11 years ago that I took on Crocheting. I remember a time long ago when I was a small child, sitting at my mom’s feet while she sat in her chair under the lamp, her hooks and embroidery scissors on the chair’s arm, her legs crossed, and blanketed over her legs was the Afghan that she was currently creating. I always wanted to learn, but my tiny hands could never wrap around the hook, hold the yarn around my fingers correctly, and work like her delicate and experienced hands did. She was able to teach me the basic stitch for me to make a chain. A long and continuous chain of yarn that I could make forever. I always wanted to learn more. How to actua;lly create something in this way.

Skipping forward into my own motherhood, I moved to San Diego and the winters were cold and wet. Extremely cold in my old house made of cement which attracted the cold and trapped it inside. I thought it would be nice to make one of my children a blanket like she had always done for me. Sure, I could have just bought one, but I wanted to make it instead. I remembered the steps and just took off. After asking her little tips and YouTubing videos on certain stitches, my mind took off and I made that blanket. One my child still has today. Torn, used, falling apart, and loved. I created my own business, Created With a Hook. I mainly sell on Etsy at createdwithahook.etsy.com. I did not think at the time that it would go anywhere, or that anyone would actually buy anything. I just had hopes.

I am now able to crochet literally anything from blankets, decor, hats, toys etc. and in the most elaborate forms. I represent a charity and continue to receive orders. I love to crochet. It is peaceful and where I can literally put what is in my mind into a physical form. I use my mother’s same hooks and beloved embroidery scissors that I always adored to create my work. I have sold all over the world, even to Stan Lee himself at Comic Con in San Diego in 2011. I puty extreme thought into my work and work to make it everything that my customers ask for. I especially try to exceed their expectations.

It is a business completely my own, and all of my custom orders are each different in their own tiny ways. I have no purchased patterns. They are all patterns that I created in my own mind and remember every stitch oh how it is made so the work is wholly my own and utterly original. Not only is my hobby made into a job, but it helps my family tremendously by bringing in money to support my children’s dreams. I truly care about the quality of my work and greatly enjoy the feedback and pictures from my customers. It isn’t just about the money, but knowing that I have made them happy with my own talent. I feel that not many business owners worry about the feedback and how the customer feels every time they use the products they purchase. I am so eager to know that what I make for my customers, no matter what it is, makes them happy and thankful to have it and can be used in creating wonderful memories. I much appreciate each and every one of my lovely customers; past, returning, and new. It is you that makes my dreams come true and makes Created With a Hook what it is today.

happiness
2

About the Creator

Jesika Rhodes

I love the paranormal. I have seen a lot through the past 11 years, and have many true stories to tell. If you love the paranormal, relate, or just love a good ghost story, join me to enter parts of my life where the stories come alive.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.