Motivation logo

Crazy 2020, but a lot to be thankful for

My year

By ɔɐɾdɐlℲPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
University Medical Center New Orleans

Crazier than 2020

I started my year in my senior year of college in New Orleans. Stressed with with what I thought to be my final semester, I spent much of my time hitting my dab pen then hitting the books. I got a night job at a local gas station right as Mardi Gras rolled around. Showing up to work drunk every day ensured that I got fired within 2 weeks of starting. The party didn’t stop when Mardi Gras came to an end, and I stumbled back to my dorm at 3am for many nights afterwards. Becoming increasingly disillusioned, the school ended up sending me to University Medical Center for a psychological assessment. My discharge paperwork listed: “Schizoaffective Disorder, Alcohol abuse, THC use disorder, Current every day smoker, Psychosis, and Disorganized Schizophrenia”.

Beginning of COVID

COVID-19 virus

While in the hospital, I started seeing that there was this new virus called “COVID-19” and that they were cancelling festivals and limiting visitation. I didn’t think much of it as I remembered the swine flu days. Upon my release, I found that the dorms had been closed, stores were shut down, and the college area of town was essentially evacuated. I tried to couch surf for a few weeks, but ended up back home. I got a new job but nothing was fulfilling on the antipsychotics, and these new masks were quite the nuisance. This was a serious pandemic.

Back to NOLA

Bruno’s Tavern on Maple St.

I quickly yearned to return to New Orleans, and within 3 months I went back. I rented a cardboard room in rat infested shotgun house for $550 a month, and within 2 days of my arrival my long time girlfriend broke up with me. The bars had been closed the whole time I was gone, but a few reopened just as I returned. This is where I did my nightly wallowing for 3 more months. I looked for a job every day, but none were hiring due to COVID, and I didn’t qualify for unemployment as I had quit my previous job to move. New Orleans was just not the same anymore.

Houston

Downtown Houston

With my life going nowhere, I decided I had to finish my degree. My aunt invited me to Houston and I thankfully obliged. I got accepted back into college and began to look for a job. In the meantime, I sat on the porch drinking having grown less psychotic over the months but nevertheless as detached as ever. A month later , I decided to stop drinking! Then I found a job after being unemployed 5 months. Things are beginning to look up.

So Thankful

Today, I have been sober for 2 months thanks to the help of Alcoholics Anonymous. For this I am grateful. I have been able to buy food and clothes now that all my money doesn’t go to booze and cigarettes. For the first time, I have a job that praises me rather than scrutinize my (former) apathy and discontentment. Life being single is much simpler. I haven’t taken medication in months, but I don’t hear voices or cry every night. Instead, my disposition and general outlook has greatly improved. My family is proud of me and I am thankful for them. I’m almost done with my degree. I’m working towards getting a nice apartment. Life is great. Without darkness there can be no light. Happy Holidays!

success
1

About the Creator

ɔɐɾdɐlℲ

music, languages, mental illness, addiction, life...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.