Motivation logo

COVID-19 good or bad?

Quarantine and retirement

By Philippe GaspardPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
5

Hello everyone, due to the current covid situation, I felt the need to share my thoughts on the matter. This article might make you angry, happy or sad. It might make you realize some things and hopefully this article resonates with you.

Maybe you have realized this, maybe you haven’t. So hopefully this article will make sense.

We are all here confined and this is a great opportunity. It’s an opportunity to take the future and bring it here with us now in the present. Again, I’m not sure if you come to this realization as I have but I believe that this an important article that you need to read if you did not realize it.

In our society, most people want to or look forward to their retirement and think; when I’m 65 I’ll do this, I’ll have more time. You have the time right now to do that! Some people are more depressed, some people can’t seem to occupy themselves or they seem to think that time is not passing by fast enough to get back to normal. Yet as a society, we want to retire and think that everything will be perfect when we retire and have all this time in front of us.

So imagine our situation right now is; we are all retired, we are all 65, are you happy? It’s a great experiment, you’re at home, you have all the time in the world, are you happy? Are you angry? Are you sad?

This is something that I have been thinking about in the past couple of weeks, and I’m not sure if you are thinking the same thing as me.

Why do people want to retire? Because when we retire, it will feel pretty much what we are experiencing right now. It might be a good thing or a bad thing, I’m not sure, you tell me!

You should be happy, you should be feeling free, you should have your money taken care of, yet most people retire with no money and no skill that they can pass on.

It’s a big realization, but instead of waiting, for example: I’m 40, my retirement will be in 22 years. It’s not that far when you think about it. So instead of reaching that level, that age and then realizing; what the “hell” did I do with my life? We have this great opportunity to realize it now.

I really hope that what I writing makes sense to you, as I believe it is a real “eye opener” to make you realize how you are living your life now. Because if you are bored now, imagine when you retire. Most people go through this and lives this once they retire.

A friend told me once; you never retire, ever! Most people die a couple of years after they retire, they die of boredom. You never retire, you keep growing, learning, expending and you should stay motivated.

I really hope that this “hits home” with you. Everyone want the confinement to be over with, but aren’t we all moving towards this kind of confinement later in our lives? You are at home doing nothing because you are retired, or you are stuck in a residence for older people. You get to feel what it’s like right now, you might be happy or not.

For me, I see this as a great opportunity for future pacing to take the future and bring it here now.

I feel good, but I know a lot of people reading this might not feel good about it. Because if you are not happy now with this confinement, what will you do when you are 65, 70 and you are retire and feeling confined and nothing to do? You better know what to do! Growth, learning, reading, teaching…

I really want you to think about your life. If you are 65 or if you are 40, 30 or 20. This confinement is a big “eye opener” about your life and the choices you are making and how you are preparing for the end of your life, but we get to experience it now. What will you do or what will you change to make that future look right, positive, hopeful or is it what people are feeling right now, sad, depress, unhappy. You shouldn’t be, this is a great time.

happiness
5

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.