Motivation logo

Consistency

The Dystopian Society & Not Finding your Niché

By Brandon LeePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

As I have continued to grow through life, I've found that the struggle never really ends. That's one theme that seems to remain constant in life. I don't mean that in a, "please be sympathetic to my situation", but in a when will it end kind of way. I have had a multitude of occupations where I have absolutely loved what I'm doing or the exact opposite, where I wanted to gauge my eyes out. Either way, each of those jobs has led me to where I am now. Stagnant. With 28 years under my belt, I feel like I could write a book on this, with said title (don't steal my title, I have a special set of skills, and I will find you). It all just feels the same at this point. You start acclimating yourself with your surroundings and environment and boom the iron fist drops. Time to find a new place of employment, and whether that be going through a temp agency, contract company, or permanent position, the process is daunting and endless.

We consistently and constantly are comparing ourselves to the people who were able to catch a break, or only post their highlight reels on social media. I'm sure a ~hard~ 8.7/10 of those people are secretly miserable. Creating or honing your craft is just as much work as the 9-5, 40+ hour a week a job we're all slinging. It becomes so mundane, that it's disingenuous. You wake up go to work, take your predetermined breaks, clock out like a machine, and finally get home. It's so consistent that you feel like a machine. After the endless scrolling and daunting hours of Netflix, it's time to power off and recharge.

*wow, looking back on my word choice - it just goes to show that we are moving like machines*

Not for nothing, I think the path leading up to finding your niché is one of the most painful, yet rewarding tests of time. The growth you experience is so uncomfortable, and you just have to learn to love every crevice of what seems like the tiniest cubicle in existence.

I think what gets us, or what continues to pain me personally, is the unknown. As children, we see something, we analyze its risk vs. reward and move forward with our decision. We accept it, and move on. As adults, without any preparation or most of the time parents to fall back on, we overanalyze, panic, think of every reason NOT to do what could be the one thing that pulls out of the rut, and go back to what feels comfortable. We just get stuck in what this ideal life, instead of what feels authentic to our natural selves. It may work for a while, but like history repeats itself, the internal and existential crises of "what am I actually meant to be doing with my life?" will inevitably sweep you off your feet.

So, what do you ask is the best thing we can do?

Live our truths, and lean into what feels authentic. Comparing and contrasting is a method used for things -mostly material- not autonomous beings with complex thoughts, feelings, and emotions.

I wanted to write this because I had a lot of feelings, but also not too much direction/guidance on where it was going - this may or may not be congruous with my current state, but that's neither here nor there. I do know this, even when you do feel like you are on your last leg or exhausted beyond the point of exhaustion, you have to keep going. Life, time, and bills rarely, if ever stop for nothing and no one so stay persistent in finding your niché or achieving and exceeding your goals. It will be worth it, especially when you can look back and see how hard you pushed past all adversity to get where you wanted to be.

You got this!

advice
1

About the Creator

Brandon Lee

I feel like I have a lot to say, but not always sure how to voice it. So here's me putting my voice to "paper". Anyways, my name is Brandon, and I enjoy spilling my guts to anyone willing to listen or in this case read!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.