Motivation logo

Completely Unsatisfied

Early 20's are rough

By ELPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I always had big plans for my life, as I'm sure everyone does. I wanted to be the CEO of a company by the time I was 25 and have all my debts paid off. I figured I would be jet-setting around the world and enjoying a healthy financial 20's. I know I know it sounds laughable to say the least, and in fact none of that happened, and I'm already 23.

After I graduated from Ohio State in 2020 (well no graduation thanks covid) I got a job doing Business Development for a local company. It was a hard job and my job title was a blanket term for doing multiple jobs for everyone. But I enjoyed the work and it was a good company to work my way up in. In June I decided to move to Chicago with my older sister. There was really no reason for me moving, but I felt as though it was my only chance to get out of Ohio. I approached my boss and let him know I would be leaving and no longer be able to work for him. That man did the unexpected and offered to let me keep my position and work from home in Chicago. This was the best news I could ask for. I could move to a big city, have a job, and make good money from home. I lived the next month preparing for the move and getting equipped to working from home. We signed the lease to our apartment a week before we moved and we were set to go. The last week I was going to be in Ohio I went into the office to say my goodbyes to all my co-workers and boss. It was that day my boss let me know it "wouldn't work out" and that it would be best for both of us to go our separate ways. To be fair, I had not been trained very well on what my actual job would be, but I had no reason to think I would not have a job. So I came to Chicago with no job and no plan. I sat at home for a week doing nothing but job searching (I forgot to mention my degree is actually in Family Studies and Education). After countless interviews I decided to take a job as a lead teacher at a daycare, that happened to be around the corner from my apartment. I took a job making $39,000 a year. And to most people that may seem like a great gig right out of college, which it is. But the lifestyle I could maintain in Ohio would not be supported by $39,000 in Chicago. I find myself surrounded by people in their late 20's bragging about their vacations or their fancy apartments downtown, as I sit in my basement unit in Lincoln Park. I know its not right for me to compare success to other people, it is just not the life I had pictured. So here I am , working 8:30-5:30 completely dissatisfied with my career. I wake up always waiting for something, whether it be lunch or leaving work or even the weekends, I am never happy in the moment. I cannot afford rent, loans, and enjoy life at the same time anymore. I love working with kids but it is not a job I see myself doing for much longer. So as of yesterday, I decided to go back to school. I am not sure how I want to go about it yet, but it is happening. Ultimately I will have to wait until August, which leaves me plenty of time to figure it out. I am going back to get my MBA with a focus in Finance. Whether I go back to Ohio or do an online program, I have decided to take control of my life and create the world I have always wanted. Life throws HARD curve balls, so who knows where the wind will actually take me, but hey come on for the ride. Maybe Key West? Maybe Texas? My life is about to get a whole lot crazier.

goals
Like

About the Creator

EL

23 years old..join me on this ride

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.