Motivation logo

City of Angels Recovery Radio Conversation

A Talk Between Art Ackerman and Jim Gaven

By Jim GavenPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

A little over a year ago, I met with Art Ackerman of City of Angels Recovery Radio (COARR) at their studio in Hightstown, NJ to talk about the latest happenings with my music service company, Key of Awesome Music. Not only did we talk about the company, but we talked about difficult decisions we all make in life, the education system, following your passions, and original songs.

Art is extremely easy to talk to, and an hour with him feels like 15 minutes. Have you ever met someone and felt like you've known them your whole life? It is an amazing thing, and the first time I met Art, that was definitely the case. It was at a fundraising event for the City of Angels, a non-profit organization who exists to support those with drug and alcohol addiction in Mercer County, NJ. I remember setting up my equipment for a mixed set of original and cover songs at Delorenzo's Pizza in Hamilton, NJ. The room was packed and the energy for making a difference was alive and well. Art was one of the first people I saw upon entering the building, and his warm, friendly, and helpful nature made a great first impression on me. He was lugging in equipment as I was doing the same. The set went well. The event went well. No complaints from anyone. And, the best of all was that a good amount of money was raised for the organization. A win-win for all involved. From there, our relationship grew. Art called me up on occasion to perform at other fundraising/benefit events such as Rock Fest at Mercer County Park Concert Pavilion, and encouraged me to share the podcast I started on my own with him so he can showcase it on COARR's internet radio station. He's had me on COARR's show to record some live segments on multiple occasions as well. Now, several of my podcast episodes and several of my songs are on regular rotation on COARR. Key of Awesome Music Podcast can be heard live at 8PM EST Monday evenings if you are ever in the mood for some positive, upbeat thoughts about life and music.

All of these things came from saying, 'yes' to a volunteer opportunity.

Are you comfortable with doing something pro-bono every so often? To give your time and energy to a worthy cause without expecting anything in return? Sometimes it's difficult to discern where to put your efforts in a prudent way. Maybe you don't want to be taken advantage of. And, I wouldn't blame you for thinking that way. There are a lot of people out there looking to scam you. But, I would argue it's easy to spot them, and when you do, it's best to stay away. For me, I can say without a doubt that many of the opportunities I've had in my career have been to the fact I am able to say, 'yes', without reservation or hesitation. Most of the time, these volunteer events lead to paid gigs, and better yet, long-lasting relationships. That's where I want to be at the end of my life...knowing I did my part in making the world a better place doing something I loved to do as well as the relationships I formed and maintained. I look at my life as if I'm at the end of it already, and playing it backwards to the present moment. With a question like, 'How would my 90 year old self think of me now?', if the answer is not proud, then something has to change. If the answer is proud, then I know I'm where I'm supposed to be...that I'm on the right path.

I would urge you to consider asking yourself this question. It will inevitably shed some light on your current situation, and may lead you to act in changing your ways drastically, improving ever so slightly, or remaining where you are in a positive trajectory towards more and more goodness.

All in all, I consider Art a role model, a mentor, if you will, and wish him great success and happiness in life. His willingness to reach out to a perfect stranger like myself, and my willingness to take a chance on something that might not reap an immediate tangible physical reward tell the story of selfless service to our fellow human being.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Jim Gaven

My mission is to write inspirational stories that make you feel good about yourself, put a smile on your face, and think of things in a different way.

www.keyofawesomemusic.com

www.jimgaven.bandcamp.com

www.patreon.com/keyofawesomemusic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.