Motivation logo

Brutal Honesty

How to Accept and Own Your Situation

By Foreign PawsPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

I think the first thing is to acknowledge who you are no matter what. See, in todays society, it's really hard to feel good about yourself. Why? Well, how many times have you heard that you are special? That you are going to change the world, that you have the most beautiful face, that people can't understand your genius, or God knows what else. How many times have you scrolled on Instagram for hours in your bed and couldn't help, but think what a boring and ugly life you have compared to all these other people who all seam to be in fucking Bahamas. That perfect crystal clear water that is missing from your Instagram feed so much or the damn turtles. Let me tell you something, if a studio would ever make up a dream set (Maldives beach) and charge for the photo there would be a one month waiting list for the fake photo with the little lights.

Now, you are probably thinking why am I telling you all this? Was this the best thing that I could have done with my time at three in the morning. Well... yeah, but that's not the point. The point is you have a reason for clicking on this—or maybe you're just curious. Anyway, let's get to the bottom of this.

I will start by saying that I am a complete loser. For more insight on that, look up "Loser" by Beck. There is a certain courage in admitting that, and there is even more courage in admitting the fact that it's okay to be a loser. It's okay to say that you won't change the world or that your life isn't as peachy as you might dream of it to be—after all, we are only human. Most people live simple lives and that's okay. But to be honest, if you have a computer or a phone on witch you read this then it means you are living a pretty good life. Better then the single mother who works two jobs to keep things afloat, or then the homeless man that you passed on your way home. There are people starving or that struggle with horrible DISEASES, just think about that for a second. Doesn't the fact that you don't have the house of your dreams, the job, the phone, or vacation sound a bit off when you think about that? Well it should, cause if not, you are a bit insensitive.

Let me tell you a little story. When I started using Instagram I followed every celebrity that I liked. I was constantly bombarded with all these crazy things and beautiful things that they would do. The parties, clothes, vacations, cars, and fuck knows what else. I started being very jealous of them, thinking how lucky are some people to get to do that. I felt like shit every time I saw one of those photos because it made me feel like my life was so boring, and eventually, it made me a bit depressed. So one day I realized that I was so pissed at my life because I was constantly obsessing about what that one percent of the population was experiencing. So I unfollowed the fuckers. I don't see their expensive outings or ridiculous events anymore. I only see the feed from friends that do most of the things that I do. Nice middle class things. I was amazed what a big impact just that little thing had on my life.

I know what you think, that I gave up, that should have motivated me to work harder or whatever to get to what I want. Well let me break it to you, no matter how many sex tapes you make it ain't gonna make you a Kardashian. There are 7 billion people on this planet, if we would all be special we would have been conquering another galaxy by now.

But the point that I want to get to with all this is:

Stop feeling bad about yourself! There are so many beautiful things that are present in your life. Try to appreciate them before you go to the Bahamas in your dreams. You have a house, a chance to get treated if needed, and probably a couple of friends. You have a limited time on this earth so make the most of it. Making the most of it doesn't mean you have to spend money that you don't have on ridiculous things, it just means you have to fucking smile. Smile and laugh at your situation. Why feel bad about something that you might never be able to change? Just so you realize this next time you go on Insta and see all those perfect lives... just remember that nobody posts anything sad on Instagram.

You might not look perfect, but you don't have to. You might not be the richest, but you don't have to. All of this doesn't mean that you shouldn't work towards what you want to achieve it just mean that sometimes you have to accept and give yourself a break. This is all about taking a step forward towards the things that are really important like being at peace with what you represent. We are only human. You won't get on the moon, but that doesn't mean you're life is falling apart or that you can't be happy. Smile.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Foreign Paws

Stop, breath in and enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.