Motivation logo

BENEATH THE STREETLAMPS

Finding Light In Darkness Of Grief

By Robert C. DeleonPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
3
BENEATH THE STREETLAMPS
Photo by Efe Kurnaz on Unsplash

I can't stop thinking about the time when love showed up in the purest, most unexpected way as I sit down to write this. I'm still in awe of the story's power of connection and the profundities of human passion.

Everything started one clear autumn evening when the leaves danced in the wind, whispering secrets of change. I noticed her as I was engrossed in my own thoughts on my way home from work. The soft glow of the streetlamp above her cast a shadow across her face as she sat on a bench in the park. I was drawn to her because of something about her—a quiet strength combined with a vulnerable air.

I walked straight up to her, heart thumping in my chest. I had no idea what to say or why I felt the need to speak with her, but I also knew that I couldn't ignore her. My heart ached for her as I drew nearer and saw the tears pouring down her cheeks.

"Are you okay?" I questioned, speaking hardly audibly above a whisper.

She raised her head to face me, sadness and something else, an inexplicable something, in her eyes. With a scarcely discernible voice, she responded, "I'm fine."

However, I was able to look past her outward appearance and sense the waves of sorrow emanating from her. I realized then that I couldn't abandon her.

"Mind if I sit?" I pointed to the empty area next to her and asked.

She paused for a time before nodding, which I interpreted as permission to take a seat. With the exception of the soft rustle of the leaves in the breeze, we sat in silence for what seemed like an eternity.

She finally said something, her voice hardly audible. "My husband... he's gone."

In the face of such grief, I was at a loss for words and knew nothing to console her. So I just stretched out and grabbed her hand, giving her what little comfort I could.

For hours, we sat there, lost in our own thoughts but somehow united in our sorrow. And as the evening grew darker and the stars started to disappear, I came to a significant realization.

Love isn't necessarily about lavish displays of affection or epic romances. Sometimes all that matters is just being there for someone when they most need it—that is, lending a hand in the dark or a shoulder to weep on.

I couldn't get rid of the notion that our encounter had been anything other than chance, and in the days and weeks that followed, I found myself drawn to her more and more. And as we made our way through the difficult terrain of loss together, I started to see her as someone I could genuinely care about rather than just as a stranger I had met at the park.

It is said that love has no boundaries and can exist beyond of space and time. And I knew it to be true right then, sitting next to her on that chilly autumn night.

Because love is about more than just happy and joyful times; it's also about sad and painful times. It's about knowing that there is always someone there to light the way, even in the darkest of nights, and finding comfort in the arms of another.

And I can't help but be thankful for the strange turn of events that led to our meeting as I think back on that evening. I found in her not just a friend but also a kindred spirit who had an understanding of the depths of my soul that I had never imagined.

So let's celebrate love in all of its chaotic, gorgeous beauty. May us never lose sight of its capacity to soothe, heal, and serve as a constant reminder that we are never completely alone in this world.

healinghappiness
3

About the Creator

Robert C. Deleon

Robert C. Deleon: Master of intrigue, weaving tales that grip the mind and heart. From mystery to sci-fi, his words ignite the imagination.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.