Motivation logo

Before You Can Love Another You Must First Discover Yourself

Self Love is the journey you embark on when seeking Love

By Tamika Morrison OkelekePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Before You Can Love Another You Must First Discover Yourself
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

Love does not get the respect it deserves. Everyone wants It but no one seems to know how to truly capture it. People look outside themselves, in all the wrong places not realizing that Love is within. Unfortunately for many, with-in them is full of scary darkness they have become afraid of and have imagined great evils and monsters are there, so therefore, it could not possibly store/house LOVE. That could not be farther from the Truth.

Truth is, You already are Love, that is your true identity as part of Creation. Love is what created all living things – anything that has LIFE has LOVE. You can refer to the Bible in Genesis chapter 1 for this confirmation.

Dear One, please awaken and realize, that the “darkness” you perceive as scary is the amazing blank slate of your own solar system filled with everything thing you think and imagine (Philippians 4:8). Instead of rehearsing the horrors of the past (heartbreak, disappointment, abuse, fear, etc.) and housing them in that sacred space, begin to renew your mind with pure thoughts of possibilities, happiness, dreams coming true and yes, Love! Without Love, none of these are possible. That’s your within. As a man thinketh, so is he!

My 10-year journey of self-love discovery was quite an adventure! I learned so many valuable things about myself and ultimately embraced the Love within that attracted the physical manifestation of Love with my Husband. As above, so below. As within, so without.

It was an enlightening journey that in hindsight, was so necessary to where I am today and who I am. There were some necessary steps I had to take personal inventory of like:

• Past hurts, pains and disappointments

• Accountability for the part I played in the above

• Forgiveness towards myself and others

• Acknowledgement of my self-sabotaging tendencies

• Therapy to work through the above tendencies and learn new ways of being

None of these steps were quick pit stops and many of them are on-going. Life offers a chance to constantly improve and evolve, so, you will always be in the above states in some form or fashion, however, it’s important to understand when desiring partnership or the love of another, your journey towards lasting love will start with yourself first and foremost.

I refer to the start of the journey as discovering your “I Am”. So, let me ask you a deep question. Do you KNOW who you are? I mean really know beyond the outer you. Deep inside your thoughts, THAT you. If that feels intimidating, that is normal.

I remember the first time I decided to discover myself. I felt complete horror to meet My Self. I was petrified, honestly because there was a very critical and judgmental voice there and it challenged my perception of the self, I thought I was or better yet, wanted to become.

I remember staring into the mirror and I looked very deep into my eyes until I felt like I was looking past the physical and deep within my Soul. Honestly, it was fearfully intimidating because I knew I felt my Soul acknowledge being seen by me. I had now discovered what I had been seeking – My Self. I also discovered I was the cruel Person dictating my thoughts. In other words, I was in control of this function. No one else but me. However, it was also a beautiful spiritual revelation to discover I held the power to change this.

Let’s explore this topic a bit – the power to change. Change those disgusting thoughts swirling, constantly replaying also known as lies according to the Bible which also repeatedly reminds one to “renew your mind” (Check out Ephesians 4:22-25) to keep those discouraging and lying thoughts in check and keep your personal solar system filled with your most amazing thoughts and ideas that will eventually manifest for you physically.

So, take a moment to discover who you are on the inside. Whatever you discover, whether you are pleased or not, is You! The real you – the Soul you that is neither male nor female. The Voice. That IS that INNER YOU that is always being talked about. If you have not made the acquaintance yet, then take the next few minutes to say Hello!

Truly an intimidating experiment but necessary for journey towards self-love that needed to happen to eventually lead me to my love of this lifetime.

You are on the right path, keep going! Happy Loving adventures!

self help
Like

About the Creator

Tamika Morrison Okeleke

Writer, PR Evolution Coach and Founder, Wordsmith, Soul-healer. I use words to inspire, connect, & make a difference. Follow me @1stLadyofPR.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.