Motivation logo

ART-MY PASSION, MY DESIRE, UNTIL I DIE.

Follow your dreams!

By Justyna JPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

I am at the chapel getting ready for my funeral. I look at all these people who gathered to say good bye to me. Most people I know but there are others who I've never met in my life. Who are they? Why did they come? They smile at my family, some laugh out loud like they didn't know where they are. How ironic, even though I'm dead, I'm still over thinking everything... Never mind, they start the goodbye ceremony. My sister speaks about me. She has put together a presentation in PowerPoint, to show my life. It starts with a thank you note. Then it goes my biography, my achievements and some pictures of my beautiful family.

Finally, she says about my passion, my hobby I did in my spare time. Something I spent hours designing, drawing and finally painting. She shows a picture of my paintings and DIY wooden keepsake box. The very first pieces I did to relax while I was on maternity leave. Even though I was busy looking after my first born, I still found time to sit down and paint. It’s like a therapy session, to help with anxiety, to reduce stress level. Mixing colours is such fun and it’s so mesmerising to watch.

Here is my wooden box I painted for my niece. Her surprised face after receiving the present was unforgettable. Inside there is a piece of fabric cut to size using scissors ✂️. Then a hot glue was applied to secure the fabric into place.

There are few more slideshows of my work I have done during my existence.

• A Unicorn jewellery box I made for my daughter.

• A Sponge-bob painting I did for my husband. He loves animation characters and enjoys watching cartoons.

• Woman in red on black background.

• A beautiful wooden box decorated with a decoupage napkin, showing a little girl with flowers.

My sister could go forever talking about my art gallery. She has finished her speech with Albert Pike’s life quote: What we have done for ourselves alone dies with us; what we have done for others and the world remains and is immortal.”

Then someone else stands up and wishes to say something. Finally, I can see clearly who that is, Pablo Picasso! How did he find out about my death? Who invited him? How is it possible he is alive? I have so many questions to ask him about. He says that he is delighted to be able to say goodbye to me and see my full art gallery. He also adds that he would be honoured if some of my art was displayed at his gallery. Lastly, he says Rest In Piece and leaves.

I’m so happy seeing everybody’s reaction and amusement. My art has never was that popular or recognised. I’ve had all the pictures saved on my computer, with no intention to publicise them. Maybe I was afraid of criticism from other people. Or maybe I just didn’t think I’m good enough to show the world my art. It was after all my hobby, not a full time job. I loved making others happy; giving them presents they appreciated.

Also, I love to see the support I had from my family. My sister speaking about me like she was amused by my art. She has always been very upfront with me, was never afraid to criticise my ‘masterpiece’. I didn’t think I will ever see her true love for me and my art, ever! I looked at her eyes full of tears trying to tell her I’m standing next to her, that I’m here but suddenly something happened and I ... I woke up! I guess we’ll never find out what happened next.

Author: Justyna J

goals

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JJWritten by Justyna J

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.