Motivation logo

Ar-Rasheed S. Brisco Jr. - Entrepreneur and Author

Bringing credit and passive income education to his community.

By Mickey RicoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo Credit: Stories Untold Media

Ar-Rasheed S. Brisco Jr. is a self-made entrepreneur and author from Rahway, NJ. He owns a credit consulting company (New Life Credit Consultants, LLC) and the author of the book "Mastering Credit." We had a chance to catch up with him for a few questions recently.

Photo Credit: Stories Untold Media

Born in Plainfield, NJ, Ar-Rasheed's mother moved him and his brother to Rahway, NJ early on. After graduating from Rahway High School, he went off to college at Stockton University which is where he began to truly tap into his entrepreneurial spirit. His first business venture was taking the influence he had over his peers to start hosting and throwing events for his classmates. "The events started as house parties," he explained. "Eventually the word was getting out to the community nearby Stockton. Before I knew it, there was a shuttle service bringing people to my place twice a week with students all paying to come party." From house parties to full on event venues with security and social media influencers as hosts, he realized early on his business acumen was strong.

Towards the end of his college days. he started a credit consulting company that has grown much since its inception in 2018. "Going into December of 2021, we're represented by clientele from over 22 states in the country. We've helped people get approved for credit cards, auto loans, personal loans, business loans and even mortgages," he explained. "The best part about what I've been able to create is having the chance to truly change people's lives." We've seen the success that the company has had, so we wanted to know more about him the person and what motivated him.

Outside of teaching his clients about credit, Ar-Rasheed also lends a hand to his community. He works with an organization that helped him develop into who he is today called "Platinum Minds," which helps to take gifted scholars from urban areas and expose them to elite secondary schools & colleges. He volunteers to help be a mentor to up and coming students, letting them know they too can become something greater than their birth circumstances.

Well Ar-Rasheed, with the success of the company what's next?

"So much I can't even begin to say! The company will continue to grow with our clientele base and employees. Soon we'll be developing a full on course for people to learn how to do what we do. Another plan is to become a major face in the e-commerce space for minorities. I was introduced to the space by Mayra and her team over at the Shape Shifter Academy (@shapeshifteracademy) who have given me everything I'll need to succeed. In the next 3 years, you'll be seeing my brand continue to grow through the country outside of just the East coast."

Let's say we finish the interview and you step outside the office and find a lottery ticket that ends up winning $10 million. What would you do?

"Sheesh! If I found a ticket with that kind of money I definitely would understand that I actually only won 50% of that money due to Uncle Sam. So out of that I'd have $5 Million, with that I'd pay off my parents mortgage and debts to start. Once that's all done, I'd throw $1 Million among different investments I own like stocks, crypto, life insurance and IRA's. Lastly and MOST IMPORTANT, I'd go to different low-income areas and put money into projects that directly impact the community. Nothing wrong with donating money to a big non-profit organization; but I'd want my hands to be right in the community helping directly."

Now Ar-Rasheed, what's a quote that you live by?

One of my favorite quotes of all-time is "anyone who makes you mad is your master." That quote resonates with my because our emotions are powerful, unless of course you find yourself not being able to control them. I wouldn't be able to have any success in business if I wasn't able to control my emotions.

For more information, questions, comments or concerns, you can connect with Ar-Rasheed here:

interview
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.