Motivation logo

And Introducing Myra Hotchkiss

Or For Senior Princesses Only

By Myra HotchkissPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was a very shy girl. That never changed as I grew older. It doesn't seem fair, does it? We all want to be Roxie Hart or any actress on Glee, stunning looking and with several cups of overflowing talent. Well, the talent is there, but it's for a keyboard, not singing or acting. Ah, well, we make the best of the gifts we're given.

So now you know I'm not going to dance into your life or your consciousness. I'm just going to nibble away at you with words of hope, laughter, and perhaps a little enlightenment. I'm quite sure life has more to throw at me, but my reactions are somewhat different now.

I did my share of singing and dancing in school, but my teachers appreciated much more my way with a pencil (the Internet and computers not having been invented yet.) Yeah, I'm that old. My poetry has been published in anthologies, plus one ebook I wrote about owning your life published several years ago. My teachers would be proud of me.

Am I proud of myself? I am. As I look back over all the years, I see how far I've come. I see all the crap I've been forced by others to take. I see how I was conditioned beginning with school and working up to jobs, marriage, children, and life in general. I tried to give my children the freedom of choice and the reality of their lives being created however they wished.

Today, I'm learning my place in the Universe. I'm learning Its wisdom, how to manifest my desires, and how to project my enlightenment into the world. Living an example, in other words. My goodness, you'd never guess the kind of freedom found in this enlightenment. I wish it for every soul on this rock and not just my children and loved ones.

As I move into my senior years (I'll turn 61 on July 10,) I find there is no one I know left alive to tell me how to do it right. I'm sort of making it up as I go along. Even though my knees have given up the ghost, I still walk to the store. I try to work out so my knees benefit from stronger muscles. I eat organic when I can afford it. I pamper my body and skin. This kind of making it up is cool.

My next step is setting up a website of my own. I want to help women just beginning their senior years like I am. It will be mostly videos. Even if some senior women don't have computers, they have phones. They have kids who look for just this kind of thing for their moms. I want to show women my age that life hasn't ended just because they got their first disability check.

We all need to know that we matter, no matter what our age. Senior women need to know this more than anyone. We've done the children and working thing. We've supported everyone for all those years. Now it's our turn. But when we get here, we find that we're invisible. No one sees us. They walk right past us.

Do you have a clue how that makes us feel? You'll find the same thing with veterans of any stripe, the homeless, and the battered. If something isn't shiny and pretty, no one wants it. People just walk right by it, their noses in their phones and earbuds blasting their favorite music.

I want some senior lady somewhere to know that she is seen. I see her. I want to talk to her. I want to know what makes her tick, because you see, I am her. You might think I have an overload of passion. God knows, my kids think so. In former days, it was channeled into my children and jobs. Today, I'm channeling it into people who need it the most. Look out, senior girls, I'm coming right at you!

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Myra Hotchkiss

I'm a 61 year old Southern lady, a mom and grandmother, who loves life. I'm disabled, but that doesn't stop me. I love cooking, working with plants, Nature, kids, people in general, and so much more that there isn't enough room to write it

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.