Motivation logo

An Introduction to Removing Negative Blockers

Because you deserve happiness

By Jennifer S. Benson Published 4 years ago 4 min read
1

My name is Jennifer and I’m an Empath. For a long time, I didn’t realize that I was an Empath. Really, it wasn't something that I was taught as a child. In fact, I still remember the first time that someone told me they thought I was an empath. I remember thinking how insane that sounded. We were shooting a music video (I was an extra) and this person who had been dancing with me just blurted it out. “I feel so much more relaxed around you, are you an Empath?”

Here’s the thing, I had NO idea what that even meant, let alone if I would consider myself as being one. Of course, I respond as any red blooded New Yorker would and I said, “What’s it to you?”

It's funny that the Empath in me felt pained by that response. I felt almost an instance rejection roll over me and I stumbled back in both shock and fear. 'What is happening to me?' I asked myself.

This feeling was so powerful and strong that even though a part of me was screaming to run and hide from these emotions, I continued the conversation anyway. “What does that even mean anyway?” I asked with a more appropriate tone for getting information. I HAD to know. I HAD to understand what they meant because deep down I knew something to be true even if I wasn't ready to admit it.

They didn’t give me the dictionary definition or anything but they did tell me that it was a person who could remove negative energy by being in its presence and who could feel what other people were feeling. “Sensitive” was added to that statement.

Sensitive? I was 17 years old and I would hardly classify myself as sensitive. I had seen and experienced more in 17 years than this person standing in front of me could ever possibly imagine. The funny thing is, that as I reflected on what they were saying to me I found myself feeling a combination of fear, curiosity, frustration, validation, and oddly enough...hope.

I knew almost instinctively what someone was feeling. What if that meant that I was an Empath? I could walk into a room and automatically know how each person in the room was feeling. I knew if they were frustrated, sad, happy, basically, if they had an emotion I was picking up on it like a freakin beacon.

Fast forward a few years later, I was still on the fence about the whole Empath thing but there was one truth that I couldn't deny. If someone was struggling with negative energy I would pick up on it. It felt like I was a magnet for other people’s drama and almost always when in my presence would they walk away from a conversation with me saying some variation of “I feel better now,”

For me, however, I didn’t feel better. I felt like crap. It was horrible. I started to legitimately hate people. I didn’t want to leave my own house because heaven forbid I get on the bus or the train or ride a taxi and someone decides to sit next to me to tell me about their day. Holy mother, I needed help because I was drowning in self-doubt and negative energy.

Does that sound like you? Have you found yourself drowning in negative energy and all you want is to have a moment to breathe without feeling bombarded with this constant onslaught of negativity?

If you are like me you have begun to avoid people, places, and situations just to get some peace of mind. The isolation while beneficial at first becomes over time weighted and heavy. It feels like you are hiding from the world and the weight of the negative energy doesn't, it just grew heavier.

During my lowest point I had gained over 100 pounds, developed several autoimmune diseases and nearly died twice before I decided that there HAD to be a better way.

Over the course of my Negative Blocker Story Series I am going to share with you some of the methods that I used to overcome my own negative blockers. These tips should help you start to make positive changes in your own life.

You see, the problem with being an empath and not realizing (or accepting) it is that you end up absorbing a lot of other people’s negative energy. It can be intense and overwhelming if you aren’t aware. This series isn't just for Empaths because all of us battle with negative thoughts, energy and blockers every day.

These negative blockers will destroy you and your potential if you don't make a decision to start removing them from your life.

What I hadn’t realized at the time, was that these feelings were the result of an abundance of negative energy. It was difficult to remove the negative blockers because I honestly didn’t know that was the problem. How can you fix a problem you aren’t aware of?

That’s the challenge.

If you are here reading this, it means that you have an awareness of negative energy and negative blockers. You are already on the right path towards removing these blockers because see them. That honestly, is the first step towards removing them. Ready to get started?

Let’s Begin! See you next time when we talk about Visualization Excersises.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Jennifer S. Benson

Jennifer is both a fiction author and mindset coach. Her newest series, The Brink of Sanity takes you on a paranormal journey into the unknown and the terrifying. Do you think you are brave enough?https://www.udemy.com/user/jenniferbenson/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.