Motivation logo

An Easy Mindfulness Technique to Make You Feel Good Every Day

The important messages are hidden in the simplicity.

By Lucy MilanovaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
An Easy Mindfulness Technique to Make You Feel Good Every Day
Photo by Paige Cody on Unsplash

Some time back, I got to travel to my family home where I revisited the old memories, my old room, as well as some of my old notebooks.

In one of them, I found the wisdom that I've almost forgotten about. Subconsciously, I might have still remembered parts of it and tried to incorporate it into my daily being, yet, on a conscious level, it was hardly evident.

When I revisited one of my old notebooks - set up when I got passionate about self-development and mindful living, and re-read this teaching, it felt like finding a few long-forgotten bucks (actually more like a few hundreds') in an old coat, and precisely when I needed it.

This mindful teaching manifests as a simple, yet clear and effective technique that helps anyone really to:

1. feel good every day,

2. keep a meaningful track of the passing time - your days,

3. boost motivation and a sense of achievement,

4. align regularly to an energy of higher frequencies - higher vibration that serves our mental health,

5. improve your well-being,

6. create healthy habits,

7. reduce stress, as well as,

8. invoke joy and happiness instead of anxiety, fear, and negativity into your being.

Here, let me share it with you.

The four-letter tool is called G.L.A.D.

Beyond the straightforward meaning of glad as a word - to be glad, there's a deeper one if we look at each letter separately:

G - Gratitude

L - Learning

A - Accomplishment

D - Delight

The technique is the best to be used at the end of the day, and what we do is that we look at these 4 areas - gratitude, learning, achievement and delight within our life on that day and ask ourselves 4 key questions.

G - What am I grateful for, today?

L - What have I learned today?

A - What have I accomplished today?

D - What made me feel good, happy today?

Then, we make notes - equivalent to journaling ones, in a notebook -marking what day it is, and then summarizing on our experiences to answer each question G.L.A.D. askes.

It hardly takes time, I'd say somewhere between 5 to 15 mins max.

If possible, then an empty notebook dedicated to mapping your every day, or a diary that you can easily access daily is ideal as it enables you to look back at what you've experienced a few days back. This is helpful especially when you mind would be taking you away, suggesting that you're not doing enough or failing even - pushing, pressing, attempting to unsettle or stress you out.

Equally, you can make this exercise as thorough or brief as you like, based on who you are as a person and what serves your needs.

Now, as we all know how difficult pleasing our minds is. Please note that anything that you are grateful for, that you've learned, that you've achieved and that made you happy counts. They all matter.

You don't need a big list of what you're grateful for, what you've learned, neither a big summary of your achievements and delights for this to count. And unless you really had a mindblowing day like that, that's precisely not the point.

It's about counting the little things that make for the big ones. It's so that you learn that the little things also matter.

Don't let your mind trick you and make you feel something is wrong if your list is not big, it's not supposed to be big. It's supposed to be real.

Here's an example of my G.L.A.D.:

G. I am grateful for the daily walks with my good friend Maria and my darling dog, Benny. I am grateful to have Benny in my life and for all the unconditional love and affection he showers me with all the time.

L. To trust my intuition. I just had a vision of meeting and interacting with a wolf in front of me as I walked in the forest, and in less than a few seconds, a wolf-like looking dog appeared in front of me.

A. I moved closer to my goal. Found a few great looking contract roles, revised my resume (after ages) and applied for the roles.

D. The beautiful looking apple I got to pick in my uncle's garden, the amazing walk, the little cloth I needed and found in the shop. And that my delivery, delayed for so long is finally arriving tomorrow.

By doing this - devoting a few minutes in the evening to this activity, you are creating a memo of your every day.

Thanks to it, none of your days would be forgotten or mingled with others. You'll have a meaninful memory to remember and associate each of them with.

Now, if you like the tool, try it yourself. Your mind, heart and soul will thank you.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Lucy Milanova

✎ Self-Development, Mental Health, Mindfulness, Inspiration Writer | Londoner | Creative Entrepreneur | HR Consultant | Transformation Coach💡 www.lmcreativesolutions.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.