Motivation logo

About Time: The Film That Can Change Your Perspective

Why I think you should watch it

By E.J. MonesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

My long malaise ended on the day I got a random brown paper box on my porch in early May of 2021. I do not remember ordering this thing online, but it was delivered by UPS anyway, along with a note from someone or something named "The Universe".

"This can change your life's perspective," it read.

I opened the package, and inside contained a Blu-Ray of what would be the most life-changing film I have ever seen, About Time. I have seen hundreds of movies hoping to find one that will inspire me and About Time does more than that (although some movies have come close to that). As I watched it, I knew it wasn't an action movie about aliens invading Earth or robots taking over the world, nor is it just a comedy like Spaceballs (which also has some excellent moments). It is an underrated masterpiece of a film and will more than likely go down as one of the best films (or the best film) in my lifetime.

The music, story, characters, dialogue, and everything about this movie has been so well done that it almost feels like you're watching a play rather than a feature length film. The casts are all great too! WIth Domhnall Gleeson, Rachel McAdams, and Bill Nighy playing such memorable roles, it really gives off the impression that everyone involved from the director to minor characters, had their heart set on making something special. And they could not disappoint.

All the other reviews here say basically the same things: how effective this movie is on influencing their mood and how it did wonders for it. But there is no way to describe its effect on me without using words like transcendent and revolutionary. This movie changed my outlook on life, love, and friendships forever. Everything about it just made sense to me after seeing it.

I would be lying if I said that I didn't get caught up in the emotion of the film from beginning to end. At first glance, it seems like a very average romantic comedy with some science fiction elements thrown here and there but don't let that fool you because there is much more going on beneath the surface. This movie will make you laugh at some points, cry at others, and even become angry once or twice. But overall, it will leave you feeling a satisfaction and enlightenment that not many movies could deliver by the time it's over. It can give you peace when nothing else can, and it can fill you with hope for the future when everything around you looks hopeless.

The night after I watched that movie. I had trouble sleeping because of how beautifully crafted it was. I couldn't stop thinking how perfect that movie was while at the same time, being realistic enough that it could happen someday to you or me. How amazing it was that the universe allowed us to experience this piece of art together.

I have watched this film over seven times now and each viewing brings new meaning to it. You'll never look at love in quite the same way after seeing About Time. Every relationship becomes clearer and every person you meet comes into sharper focus. Love isn't just about romance; it's about stumbling upon someone who understands you better than anyone else ever could. It's about connecting with them on a deeper level than any other person ever could. If you haven't already, then please do yourself a favor and watch this amazing piece of cinema ASAP. It is undeniably worth every second of your time.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

E.J. Mones

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.