Motivation logo

A Small Moment That Had a Big Impact

Now i never feel nervous

By Anubhav SinhaPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like

It was a typical summer day in my hometown, and I had just finished my last day of middle school. I was excited to start high school in the fall, but I was also a little apprehensive. I had heard that high school was much more challenging than middle school, and I wasn't sure if I was ready for that kind of academic pressure.

As I walked home from school, I decided to take a shortcut through the park. The park was a peaceful place, and I often went there to clear my head and think. As I walked along the path, I noticed a group of kids playing soccer in the field. I didn't know any of them, but I stopped to watch for a few minutes.

Suddenly, one of the kids kicked the ball too hard, and it flew over the fence and landed in the bushes. The other kids groaned and started to walk away, but one boy stayed behind to retrieve the ball. He was about my age, with curly brown hair and a friendly smile. I watched as he climbed over the fence and disappeared into the bushes.

A few minutes later, he emerged from the bushes with the ball in his hand. As he walked back to the field, he noticed me standing there watching him. He smiled and waved, and I smiled back. Then he said something that I will never forget.

"Hey, do you want to play?"

I was surprised by his invitation, but I was also intrigued. I had never played soccer before, but I had always been athletic and coordinated. I decided to take a chance and join in.

The boy introduced himself as Alex, and he showed me the basics of the game. He was patient and encouraging, and he never made me feel embarrassed about my lack of experience. We played for about an hour, and by the end, I was hooked. I had discovered a new passion, and I couldn't wait to play again.

Over the next few weeks, I went to the park every day to play soccer with Alex and his friends. I quickly became a regular member of their group, and I looked forward to our games every day. I also started to notice something else: my confidence was growing. As I got better at soccer, I felt more confident in other areas of my life, too. I started to speak up more in class, and I wasn't as afraid to take risks.

When I started high school in the fall, I was still a little nervous about the academic challenges ahead. But I was also excited to join the soccer team. I knew that I had a lot to learn, but I also knew that I had the support of my new friends.

Looking back on that summer, I realize that a small moment had a big impact on my life. If Alex hadn't invited me to play soccer that day, I might never have discovered my love for the sport. And if I hadn't discovered my love for the sport, I might never have gained the confidence I needed to succeed in high school and beyond.

Now, whenever I feel nervous or unsure of myself, I think back to that day in the park. I remember how a simple invitation from a stranger changed my life, and I know that anything is possible if I'm willing to take a chance.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.