Motivation logo

A Single Mother and the Struggles with Work

Part 1

By Single Mum StoriesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Single Mother and the Struggles with Work
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Before I became a mother, I didn't think too much about the sexism that I had previously faced in the workplace. I just accepted it. After watching a few powerful films and series about women rising above the system that I feel still seems to de-power women, I started thinking about my own journey.

So here is where my story starts. When I was 17 years old, I started working in an office as a book-keeper. During the summer, my boss asked me to dress ddifferently. Being young I just complied and wore closed that covered my body completely. I know you are probably thinking, what did you wear? Well I was wearing summer dresses. I was 17 afterall. But then I felt like I was suddenly dressing like a 50 year old woman. I felt oppressed that I could not just be myself.

Moving on, at 19 years old I started working weekends at a bar. The position of assistant manager came up and I went for it. I researched, even worked a few nights in another bar to gain ideas to get the job. I had my interview with the manager and luckily I was given the job. For a long time, I thought it was because of my own merit, because I worked hard. The salary I was given was £15,000 a year. One night my boss, when drunk, told me he only gave me the job as I was pretty and had a large chest. Soon after I was given the manager's job and was still on the same salary. By the time the company offered me a raise, I had to ask, I felt undervalued, for I had helped raise the revenue of the bar by 10%. I worked many hours, sometimes 120 a week! At 23 years old, tired of the hours the role took from me. I gave my notice and decided to go travelling.

I spent the next few years working as a dancer in Spain and other countries, where I earned my own money. I felt empowered and life was great again. I moved back to the UK in 2004 and interviewed for some jobs. I went to an interview for a company in the accounts department, the boss told me that I looked like a receptionist, blonde with big boobs. I walked out of that interview. I started working for a large company in 2005, I got the job through an agency and it felt great to work with so many talented minds in the finance department. I learned a lot from these women and a higher position arose where I would be working directly for the company. I was lucky again and got the job. The thing is, even though the role was of a higher status, it was in fact less pay. I ended up doing my job and my old job at the same time. With me, the company got 2 for 1. In 2008 I realised that with about 23 days in lieu, and working so hard for them was not getting me anywhere. So I went back to Spain.

I carried on dancing and travelling for some time. In 2010 I fell pregnant, which obviously meant that dancing wasn't an option at that time. I got a job in a call centre, a fairly easy job, it didn't pay well, but I was on my own and needed work. When I was about 16 weeks pregnant I needed to pee often, if you are a mother you would understand frequent trips to the bathroom was necessary. The bosses noticed and asked me if I had a 'coke' problem. I explained that I was pregnant. That day, they seemed okay about it. But the next day I got a call to say there wasn't enough work and I was no longer needed. Doesn't take a genius to figure out what happened there...

goals
Like

About the Creator

Single Mum Stories

I've decided to write about my life. It is an unusual one and the topics are varied. But I want people to know that no matter how hard things have got, I still keep going. I still strive to make a better life for my son and myself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.