Motivation logo

A Running Effect

Running Means A Better Me

By Matt WhittakerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Huh? Running helps you?

Running is beneficial. Just google run and health - testimonials abound of how it has helped depression and even battle drug addiction. That must be good, right? Running has helped me in numerous ways, whether just out for a Sunday slog, a daily run, or even training for a race.

Unclogging the Mental Pipes

My mental plumbing can jam up pretty quickly, usually faster at the start of the week. A one-hour commute each way doesn’t help. Depending on work or outside schedules, the mental fog can build rapidly. No one likes to sit in traffic, on the train or subway for too long. All that time basically doing nothing sucks.

I bring or keep running gear in my car. And we’re not talking about a giant hockey bag. I slap on the trainers once the 5 o’clock bell hits. A quick warm-up, stretch and go. The pounding and breathing become rhythmic after the first half-mile. If you’re an experienced runner, your body knows what to do.

With that rush, the shit of the day slips away as your mind gets unclogged. I take in the sights, the people, and even small creatures fleeing. Longer runs can help even more; your mind will fill the void with questions that nag you, re-do certain situations or think out some solutions.

Getting Fit

The obvious benefit running (or most exercising) provides is fitness. Any newbie should start slow, say the Couch to 5k program. Taking it slow will keep you injury-free longer as you gain fitness and increase your running minutes.

The first weeks will suck but keep at it – your cardio fitness only gets better. My first month was brutal. I ran a half-mile out and back total. After a few weeks, I’d pick a point further out. The telephone pole in front of the cemetery, next to the “Do Not Enter” sign at the local church. As I got fitter, I felt better. After four months, I was probably in the best shape ever. I top off any morning runs with a coffee. And ride that high until early afternoon! A good run will make you feel energized and refreshed.

The Social Factor

Runners tend to be a social bunch. Don’t let the stories of individual training fool you. They want to meet and chill with good people to chat and run with. A social run is excellent. The miles slip by easier, and you don’t have to worry so much about time or pace. They’ll be runners of all abilities and ages. You’ll be with like-minded people who’ll encourage you and support your running. I’ve met and become friends with some great people. The common bond is running.

Finding a running group is easy using Google! Most running stores, gyms, or even stores may have a local club. My advice – don’t be shy!

It’s Not Always the Destination

Where to run is an easy question to answer. Run where and when getting out is the most convenient. I run after work or during my kids’ different activities. I don’t always run during their activities because I want to see them. The destination doesn’t always matter.

I’ve learned a lot of things when out on these runs. Shortcuts if traffic is lousy, different routes to cut across when getting to the highway. So far, the best trails have been trails to a big state forest I’ve seen on maps only. You’ll learn something about the people and the area's history. I’ve run with and chatted with local runners who are always happy to share information about the area, whether good or bad. For the most part, I like just to enjoy the run.

So Many Benefits

Hopefully, you can see how running can benefit you. All the above and more has meant a better me. It has helped me focus, gain more energy consistently and expand my social circles. My health has improved and led me to try things I may not have.

The mental pipes empty out by the end of a run and just make me a better person!

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Matt Whittaker

Runner and writer, history nut, read about anything that tickles my grey matter. A feller writes about whatever comes to mind!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.