Motivation logo

A Quarantine Reflection

The light at the end of the tunnel.

By Miss GhoulPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
The last time I took the bus home.

A year ago I was sprinting across my community college campus to either get to one of three of my part-time jobs or to get to class. A year ago, I was the most exhausted I have ever been. I was averaging approximately 4-5 hours of sleep per night and living off of free coffee in the Teacher Preparation office to get me through my day. I would tell myself "It's normal to feel like this and work myself this hard. It's normal to feel miserable at the beginning of your twenties, right?"

I made the decision to quit one of my jobs as a cashier and cook so I could focus on my school work and find a new job closer to my intended career. Well, I quit my job because I was tired of being overworked for minimum wage and crying in the walk-in freezer because of treatment from customers and coworkers. My overall misery pushed me to quit and gave me the excuse to look for another job. I ended up finding another part-time job that I never got to start because of the closure of schools.

The world shut down on my birthday, March 14th, 2020, and so did a majority of my income. I went from working approximately 30 hours a week to 3-5 hours a week. I suddenly only had one job that had to cut my hours as we began to work remotely. As I write this, I had to leave this job because it was only for students at that college. I am in my first semester at a 4-year college as a transfer student and I need a job now more than ever. Now I have student debt and need to buy a car to commute when classes start in person.

No, I can not get an essential worker job, as much as I want to. With the pandemic, my grandparents' caregiver had to stop coming because he worked in a hospital. My father became their primary caregiver and any job my sister and I could get that is not remote would put my grandparents at risk because we live at home.

However, with all this pain and suffering there are a few positives to my time in quarantine. I adopted a kitten in July and she is the light of my life. In my time of needing a virtual connection with friends, I reconnected with a high school friend who is now my long-distance boyfriend. I was able to transfer a semester earlier than previously planned, reflect on my mental health, sleep more than four hours a night, and make my home space a space I want to actually be in.

With vaccines rolling out, I have hope of life returning to a semblance of normality. I know life cannot go back to how it was before because everyone has changed through the suffering of 2020, but I am excited to move on to experience life outside of my bedroom and move forward with my life goals. I have a job interview for remote work and turn 21 next month. I know I will not be able to go out as planned for my birthday but I look forward to just looking forward to spending time with my family and having a nice dinner.

This past year has been hard, but I have hope that this year will be better. I have to hold onto that.

healing
1

About the Creator

Miss Ghoul

Credentialed English teacher

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.