Motivation logo

A Podcast, A Social Media Account & A Picture , Oh My -Heart.

Love More.

By Misha AlslebenPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1

I wrote another article similar to this already , Title is Unapperciated - Love. That article is just as true as this one however as many do I find love in more than the previously mentioned.

I still feel as though we don't apperciate what we have in today's era. I'm not saying you're ungreatful or I am or anyone else just that . It's easy to forget what we have access too and how much impact a person's thoughts, knowledge and , or social content can bring.

I have mentioned before that I prefer and stick to surrounding myself with positive people and positive content. Which is exactly why I love sharing my writing and knowledge of these accounts and items that bring me love and joy with other's.

Above all after reading this I hope you smiled at least once. Felt joy through the computer screen similarly to how you can get goosebumps listening to music. While everyone's tastes are different I feel as though the next three thing's are pretty relatable to no matter what your taste is.

Let's start with a podcast channel featuring

Mel Robbins

Mel Robbin's is a Author and Motivational Speaker.

Her podcast website's description says

"The Mel Robbins Show is a 1-hour talk show hosted by the leading global motivational speaker and best-selling author of the 5 Second Rule, Mel Robbins."

Now Mel Robbins is someone that brings me love and joy because before becoming those thing's ^. She was a normal struggling person. I came across Mel Robbin's on facebook ones day and she was discussing her 5 second rule. I loved her personality and energy from the get go. Listening to her made sense and it helped something inside me click. I am now working from home, following my dreams of being a writer , both by writing here and by working on a book, and I spend more time with my kids than I did before. After suffering post partum depression during both my pregnancies she really helped me get my 20s back on track and I still to this day love listening to her podcast's , ted talks and other public speakings.

Social Media featuring

Dharr Mann

There's something about social media that is quickly changing. Being geniune is much more important than having followers by being fake and I think it's the most refreshing thing to happen. As my age is showing I grew up through the start of myspace, used AOL And definitely spent way more time in chat rooms than I ever should of. However those experiences were the first eye opening moment I had to fake people and fake content on the internet.

I havnt stepped a digital foot into a chat room since I was 16 but I have kept up my prescence on social media dabbling in instagram , facebook and even tiktok. I enjoy being able to connect with a wide variety of people from family and friends to professionals , companies and more. I do however try my best to limit my time on there and again like to make sure what I do lie or watch is positive.

It started out with watching one teachable life short video then I found another and another and they all have very valid points about life and issues within life , family and relationships. They most of the time have a very happy warm ending or a lesson learned which is very refreshing, heartwarming and most definitely brings me and judging by his followers many others joy.

Dharr Mann has demonstrated with every video that he has spent time creating that he truly cares about bringing more love and happiness not only to social media but to the lives of other's.

You can watch a video of his that I enjoyed and more of them here

Lastly a picture

Photos are something I've loved since I was a kid. I love having a memory of a moment in time you can't return too but you have physical memory of.

It's hard to pick a photo that brings me love , not because I cant think of any but because I can think of too many.

In my last article that also got submitted to the same challenge I selected a picture of my daughter and I . While both her and her brother ALWAYS Bring me love I wanted to pick something more unique and different.

So I've done a few thing's in my 20's to generate income. I've worked in restraunt's some good and some bad. I ran a cottage bakery from my home which I did custom cakes and very much enjoyed my job. While doing that I wanted to be certified and have a degree so I enrolled in culinary school.

This story is funny and also kind of nerve wracking to think about again but I can still do what I'm about to talk about.

Knife skills are obviously a HUGE part of being a chef. I had medicore knife skills and clumsy ability when I began . I quickly got better but I also had my challenges.

Ever heard of a brunoise? No? Well its a fancy name for a fancy teeny tiny cube of potato or vegetable.

Now here's the funny part.

Anyone ever told you to pay attention a little more. Well I wish someone had. My kids were still younger and I was doing night classes so its 830p,m at night and I'm watching a video on how to brunoise cut. Then I give it a go. 35 lbs of potatos later I was left crying on my kitchen floor .

Then I remembers my kids, my husband and my business and why I was doing what I was doing. Sounds funny saying that now because cooking isn't my main source of income anymore but to continue. I got back up . Threw on my hoodie and shoes got another bag of potatos came home and I learned that cut until I looked like I was a pro. The story isn't over but heres a shot of a brunoise.

Now picture this. It's midnight. I'm turning in photo's for these cuts and guess what.

The assignment was a cup of FINE BRUNOISE !!!

So my hand is cramping, my kitchen reaks of potato starch. I have 45 lbs of cut up odd ball potatos I DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH!!! AND I have to learn to cut a freaking potato the size of a 1/16th cube?!?!

Well Ladies and Gentlemen I did it!

And I can't tell you happy I am that I overcame my self doubt , my 45lbs of failure and I perservered through it . All in the name of graduating and making sure I followed through with what I set out to do. Also so I can make sure when I'm telling my kids to never say I can't until you have tried your best that I'm doing the same .

P,S if you know what the heck you use fine brunoise cuts in let me know because after all that torture they never did give us a recipe to use that required fine bruonoise cuts.

LOL!

In the end . I could probably write another 10 articles containing 1 of each of these things that bring me love. I have also enjoyed reading the things that bring others love. While the one photo is a odd ball pick to feature I hope that it makes sense as to why I love it. I also hope that perhaps you have found a little bit of love within these words and the content they are featuring.

We can all use to love more .

happiness
1

About the Creator

Misha Alsleben

Wife & Mom Fueled by ;

Caffeine & Gratitude, when I’m not writing you’ll find me raising awareness about our planet’s needs , in the kitchen ,outside with the family, taking photos or in a bookstore.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.