Motivation logo

A New Business. A New World.

How This Mother Is Developing The New Mexico Chile Podcast!

By Charleen RicheyPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Check out the NewMexicoChilePodcast.com

This nation was hit hard by COVID-19. It is only now, a year and a half later, that our nation is beginning to rise back on its feet. New Mexico, the fifth largest state behind California and Montana, was deeply effected in the small business, traveling, and food industries, all the industries I care about the most!

I grew up in a family that owned a small business. I am familiar with the hard work, long hours, little pay, and frustrations that go into making a business happen. I also happily fell for the idea of independence, working my own hours, and finding reward in personal accomplishments that benefit the world around me.

At 45, I hit what some might call a “midlife crisis”! I haven’t done all the traveling I want to. I haven’t eaten all the unique foods I want to try. I haven’t had much to show for that gives back, the way my parents taught me.

As a result of this self-realized, predicament, I swung into action. I took all of my past experiences, loves, hopes, and dreams, and threw them all together into a New Mexico website and company conglomeration called the New Mexico Chile Podcast!

www.NewMexicoChilePodcast.com

This is a developing nonprofit organization dedicated to the New Mexico Small Business Owners! Through sharing and enticing our readers with all the beauty and excitement New Mexico has to offer, more individuals will learn New Mexico is a “Go To State”, NOT a “go through state”. It’s a chance to share the hidden gems this state offers.

By encouraging visitors and traveling, this potentially increases the state’s revenue and economic construct. With so many restaurants trying to recover, what better way than to provide publicity through the “Restaurant of the Month” page? Or our “Recipes of the Month”, “Animal of the Month”, and “Beer or Bud of the Month” pages, all regarding New Mexico awesomeness!

We now also provide a “Hot Company of the Month”! Part of our proceeds will help this company through receipt of donations, fundraisings, and sales of our SWAG (store) products! I finally found a way to help my neighbors, family, and friends, and at the same time, live the business legacy in ownership my parents had bestowed, and had come to know and love as a child.

Over the past month I have learned the following:

1. Pay attention to how you set up your webpage....multiple pages or a constant scroll can become confusing at times, especially when hungry or tired and trying to develop. If you are using a template, Mark them quickly so you don’t end confused.

2. If you’re tired, rest. Walk away from the company development for a few hours. Breaks allow the mind to process and proceed with more clarity in proper directions.

3. Don’t be afraid to make mistakes. They happen! I sent out an email that was supposed to go to each individual separately. It didn’t. Instead it grouped everyone into one email and shared all emails in the address bar....big no no! I spent the rest of that morning feeling terrible and apologizing; trying to correct everything. Which leads me to my next lesson:

4. If you’re going to have a business, be accountable to the business, your employees, and your patrons. Ownership of your actions reflect in how you and your business are perceived.

5. If developing a nonprofit company, find a legal agency that can set up your Articles of Incorporation and other necessary documents. There’s a lot of legal mumbo-jumbo that has to be written precisely. I personally don’t have the energy to figure all that out. I can read it, understand it, but to write it? I don’t want to risk the idea of any rejected documents as a result of my ignorance.

6. Don’t be afraid to ask for help! I know very little about websites. I will certainly NEVER be the ‘Stephen Hawking’ of website development. But I learn quickly. And I am still learning! Every day, there is something new with this company that leaves me saying, “I haven’t got a clue”, ending in a new journey of discovery. My most recent, involved my brother in law, website development guru, graciously taking time out of his crazy day to give me a three hour crash course in what to do or look for when creating a website because... I had no clue! Conclusion? Make all pages highly accessible with lots of buttons! I am very grateful. The site, though still under development, IS up and running! Who would have thought this mother would learn how to create hyperlinks?

7. Be patient. Nothing happens overnight when trying to develop your business. Take things slow. One step at a time will help keep you from making mistakes or missing any critical elements. It can also help you save money. There has been more than once my excitement got the better of me. Had I looked further and had been patient, I would have received the same product or a better one, cheaper.

8. Have fun! I found the things I’m good at and love; photography, writing, camping, cooking, and sharing. Putting this all into a single concept, the end result is the New Mexico Chile Podcast! I am having a blast! I feel good about myself! I sleep easier. My negative stressors have reduced. I am not emotionally eating as I did. I am even happier this company is nonprofit and gives back to small business owners in the New Mexico community (my community). The career that I have created for me, is ideal.

I get to meet new people, share ideas, thoughts, experiences, feelings, design product lines from hats to shirts, and fundraisers galore! It’s amazing how a little idea, with a lot of fun and hard work, can be brought to life! This morning, the website was even reviewed by someone in Sri Lanka and asked to connect putting New Mexico Chile Podcast’s URL link on their traveling website! How amazing is that?! That’s how you develop a fanbase for New Mexico!

My dream is becoming a reality. Living life now on my terms, there is a renewed drive, and ambition. I am developing a following and individuals are highly receptive to the work completed so far. I have purchased business cards to hand out, and leave on cork boards restaurants have in their hallways. I can also take the business cards to any place my husband and I travel, promoting the New Mexico Chile Podcast! I and my family will be wearing our personal SWAG to promote the company, both locally and traveling. And regular updates will occur on the site to bring the best of New Mexico to the continued developing fanbase!

Since this project/company is a work in progress, and has “Podcast” in the name, I am working on developing a bi-weekly Podcast where the Company of the Month and Restaurant of the Month owners, join New Mexico Chile Podcast on air to promote their company! Keeping it funny, ‘real’ and informative, will encourage more travelers to New Mexico, and a broader fanbase.

No matter what happens from here, I learned. I lived, laughed, created a website, and now own a company! I can say I am living as I should, and the New Mexico Chile Podcast is my happiness to share with world, and help others!

goals
1

About the Creator

Charleen Richey

Freelance/ghostwriter. Began writing in the single digits and was blessed with a mom who obtained a degree and career in English. My family is my motivation and inspiration to follow my passion! I look forward to sharing my work with you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.