Motivation logo

A little Merlot

A tall order to fill

By Ann GordonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
A little Merlot
Photo by René Ranisch on Unsplash

My whole life I was to tall. To tall for dresses and shorts to tall for doors and unfortunately a lot of tree branches in Highschool. But most disappointing, to tall for most men. I was 5 foot 11 almost 6 feet. I could hardly find jeans that lasted let alone a relationship. I tried bars but that means getting up to dance. Or if I walk in last for the blind date even dating profiles turned up pointless. At the weirdos boosted my ego . Is that sad? No, no.

I wasn’t bad looking my figure alluded I was thinner. My face was oval skin bright and clear eyes, green, I was alright. Maybe if I wear the push up bra tonight. That way I can say “my eyes are even more up here" as a ice breaker.

I’ll be single forever, what’s wrong with me. Alright make up time. Let’s see I’ll do a smokey eye look, wait I think that was canceled? No they conture now that’s right, and that’s done with….. oh boy, I don’t think I have those products.

Eyeshadow, check. Eyeliner, check, lipstick, yup, I guess mascara. Ok now part one of mission squeeze my outfit. A full length mid length tight blue number. It complements my brushed brown hair, maybe a bun….and the clock says I’m going to be late at this rate. Ok next mission 2, walking in those heals to the cab.

The event was small in number or maybe just evenly spaced. It was some dinner in the park type event. Mer Low was my dates name a coordinator for the event actually so, dinner was free for him. I guess I can appreciate a deal. He contacted me online, God I hope there’s wine. The event was rustic chic tea lights and moss kind of scene. I stood above the crowd I walk looking for Mer, he was handsome, dark brown hair blue eyes no facial hair and a squared jaw. He looked professional I guess.

I felt a tap on should . I turned and to surprise far down was a man. Mer was the man. Its Mer, and he is a little person. Oh wow ok. I’m giant he'll hate me.

“Hi Katie I Hope I Mer Low. From the site.” His voice was so deep and interesting, maybe a accent from travel? I was honestly stunned and hesitant in responding.

“Uh, yeah that’s me, sorry I’ve been so lost in the event its beautiful,” nice save me.

“Well thank you, I helped organize a good deal of it for the city to promote a new program for their tourism industry. Come sit with me at the bar and let’s chat.” He put his hand out, and, I took it. I mean why not at this point might as well eat. He pulled out my chair, ordered us drinks was sweet and kind. He was even charming and funny. His job was interesting he was great but was is to uneven?

“You are truly intriguing Mer, I have to say though and please no disrespect, am I not to tall?”

He grew quite and thought for a second.

“ Before I answer will you do my favor?”

“Alright?” Damn now I’m nervous.

“I want to pick out a drink for you and I want to see if you like and know why I choose what I choose, deal?”

“Okay, okay seems fair.” This is where I get kidnapped. He returns with a glass of wine dark and red. I smelt its bouquet, fruity like raspberries and maybe cherry. I took a sip and to my surprise a deep plum taste hit my taste buds as I swished for taste and a dark chocolate zing following the swallow.

“Wow that tasted amazing it was so fresh and bitter sweet. Why did you that wine choose it though Mer? I must admit I’m curious now.”

“Well first off it wasn’t wine. But like you its sweet and sophisticated with the bitter dark chocolate finish and plump raspberries to start. Sometimes a girl doesn’t need wine to feel more sometimes, she needs a little Merlot.” He leaned in with a wink and smile, that’s when I realized no pick up line could ever be better. That was my greatest first date.

happiness
2

About the Creator

Ann Gordon

I'm a novice want to be writer, someday, either way these are my stories. I'm 23 and live in Saskatchewan Canada with my husband and daughter, we're novice homesteaders and outdoorsman, a sort of modern pioneer. Thanks for reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.