Petlife logo

A Minute with a Wanderer

Story One: Alley Cat

By Ann GordonPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2
A Minute with a Wanderer
Photo by Malek Dridi on Unsplash

What's that, it, it moves quick, a bug, oh I hope a fly not a bee. Wow its a beautiful bug, bright kind of yellow like the suns reflection on the puddles after the rain. Oh I should get a move on the humans will come out soon. A suppose a big stretch is in order I have far to go. Today is market day the vendors leave all kinds of good stuff to eat behind its good humans are forgetful of their greed and quick to through it away.

Up town where i live is safe and slow the cars only get busy in the morning but most humans leave for a while. I suppose they travel for things too, perhaps there are more comfortable beds for them else where or maybe boxes bigger and nicer then the ones they live in here in the city. Maybe they go to market too.

They journey down town is and is not simple I could walk the fence and avoid the cars but anger the mutts or I could take the sidewalks and avoid the dogs but face the cars. The worst possibility, deal with people, its a 50/50 chance with humans. Young sweet kittens fluffy and freshly cleaned by mothers get homes sometimes even for a bit, that's the best life we can hope for. Old males like me dusty from smog, ears clipped and curled from cold, sometimes we don't even make it back to the streets, dumpsters or tree houses we call home. Humans are picky and I am not beautiful.  but being a wild cat isn't all bad. I imagine being a indoor cat isn't all great. But best of all at least I'm not a flea bag dog.

My paws already ached from the hard earth that covers city maybe I'll rest on the grass in a quite yard the fork in my path approaches after this. "Yaaaawwwn" this spot in the yard was perfect the grass uncut and soft and the sun was shine through the open patches of tree top. I sat in a circle of sun. I'll close my eyes a few minutes maybe, market will take time either way.

Ring. Ring.

Oh God, what was that, i jumped awake ears back fur raised. Breath man, look around. As always, small humans. A bike i believe they call it with a little ringer so as to be more annoying as they speed by stepping or rolling on unsuspecting tails. Either way I guess thats my wake up call the sun is very high now I should get moving. 

I believe I will take the fence lines to the market hopefully this allows me to save time.

Look both ways, cross the path of cars and climb the tree to the fence top. Humans yard is a weird place, its one or the other, bare or crowded. Often other animals chained up or caged. Sometimes humans plant vegetables or fruits. I enjoy smelling and occasionally biting the small tomatoes or strawberries. Gardens often keep the heat of the sun very close making beds of spinach and such a comfortable place to nap. But naps can wait till later though they are constantly on my mind. I've made great time almost half the journey now. Soon the dogs will come up. One small but important street I need to take, Mutt Alley, every human it seems has a dog there. There's a group of nasty small ones, if I was a few pounds heavier I'd show them why lions are king of Africa. I'll need to be quick hopefully most are inside now the trees are scares there so there isn't much shade and the day is ripe with heat. Dogs are so useless their humans bring them inside because of weather, hilarious.

AAAAAaaaaaRRRRRroooooOOOOOooo!

Ruff, ruff ruff!

They'd smelt me. Maybe I can run past.

"Hey cat, cat, come here I don't bite!"

"Here kitty kitty, here kitty kitty let's play fetch!"

Ruff, ruff ruff!

AAAAAaaaaaRRRRRroooooOOOOOooo!

I need to stop, "you ignorant human toys, you should know to respect a God when you see one. Go on get home, or as close to one the chain allows you."

A small fluffy dog approached off chain, he looked like a dandelion but way more annoying.

"Hey cat come here I've got a deal to make with you if you're smart enough. I'm Cutie."

"Please what kind of deal could you possibly make with me that I would care to even consider." I asked him, but before I heard his maniacal laughter a large dog on the other side was running full force at the fence and knocked me down into the yard.

I hit the ground hard, my back right foot was in shocking pain.

Ruff, ruff ruff, ruff. Cutie was charging me!

Panic.

I arched my back up and fluffed out my fur. I roared as loud as I could claws ready.

Swiped at him hard, admittedly I closed my eyes tight but his breath was horrible. Yeah. I caught him in the nostril and he yipped and began thrashing around. This I had not expected because my claw was stuck! His force through my body about, like I was tree beaches in a storm.

"Dog holy cat, sit boy sit oh my gosh!" I yelled but Cutie kept snarling and yapping loudly. That's when I felt it, my claw was free. I leapt back off his torso dragging the tips of my claws across his side. He stumbled back,  but more terrifing the sound of a sliding glass door.

"OH my God! What the hell is going on! Cutie or poor Cutie get out of here you awful cat." She had a broom and running into the yard I gather what strength was left in my legs and climb up the fence. I was out of here!

"I'll get you cats!" I heard the dogs howl as my toes hit the last of the streets fences and down the quite sidewalk, now I should be safe. I could smell the market now. I could hear the boys already digging around and partying. It must be a good haul I began running towards them I could smell the food and hear the sound of their enjoyment, became clearer and clear I could almost taste it when I felt the cool grip of wire catch me around my neck. I didn't look when I crossed the street my stomach spoke louder then my reason even beyond the pain of my paw. Animal control had me.

literature
2

About the Creator

Ann Gordon

I'm a novice want to be writer, someday, either way these are my stories. I'm 23 and live in Saskatchewan Canada with my husband and daughter, we're novice homesteaders and outdoorsman, a sort of modern pioneer. Thanks for reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.