Motivation logo

A Good Deed

During the time of Covid

By S. G. MarinPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
A Good Deed
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

With 2020 almost in the rearview mirror, things haven't calmed down too much and I wonder if there is something that I can do to give back? Are there any contactless good deeds available? It's not like I can volunteer anywhere or even give my son's old (but in good condition) toys to children without families of their own and it's not like I could donate food anywhere either.

But giving back is great! Letting strangers know that you care matters. When some people have a rougher life than you, a little act of kindness goes a long way, but what could I possibly DO?

Especially during the holidays, you just want to do something... anything that could let someone know that things can get better for them. Even when/ if I don't have much, but I'm better off in some way, at least have this sandwich on me. Why not?

The stupid Coronavirus! That's why.

But there is something, in all actuality, that can, in fact, be done. 'What's that?' you ask?

Spreading optimism, light, happiness...

I know it doesn't seem like much, but, trust me, it is.

Things will get better. Oh, yes, they will. You're going to be okay. I just know it. Humans are pretty resilient and the Coronavirus doesn't change that. You are an awesome and beautiful creation. You write your own story. No disease, not anywhere, not anyhow, has the power to change that. We have an amazing ability to survive. This time isn't any different.

So, there, I've said it! Just with a few taps of my keys and wham! I've just done a good deed. But how is that even possible? I'll tell you: People need to be reminded more than ever just how amazing they are. We sometimes need to be reminded that we do have the complete capability to survive.

Things come in and they crash all around us and there's a voice inside our head that says we're weak and that we have billions of reasons to be afraid, but I want you all to look at your lives. I mean, truly look at yourself. Don't be afraid to dive in. Every single one of us has felt heartbreak, loss, grief, anger, sometimes we have even felt completely crazy, but look at us now!

Look at how far we've come and how much we've accomplished. Even if you think you haven't accomplished much in life, you have! You are not the same person you were ten years ago or five years or one or even a few months ago. We're constantly changing, getting better, finding our inner peace.

So, seriously... to hell with Covid!

It can't control us! We won't let it because we'll keep bettering ourselves. We'll keep reminding each other that this, too, shall pass. I'll support you and you'll support me because that's what humans do for each other.

This Christmas season seems to be a little rougher than any other we've had the pleasure of experiencing thus far, but remember the true purpose of Christmas. All of the stuff that makes Christmas magical is so special, but it's not everything. The most important factor of Christmas is family.

Be grateful to all the family that's alive and well and safe and happy. If you've lost someone due to this pandemic, my deepest condolences. That is a tragedy and my heart goes out to you. You'll get through this dreary time. We all will.

I want the world to heal. I'm ready for beauty. I'm ready for genuine happiness to travel throughout our planet once more. And, by golly! It'll happen! I feel it in my bones!

You're beautiful, amazing, awesome, silly, adorable, and great in every way! You're such a delight in this world. We're lucky to have you! Feel good! Feel great! You deserve it!

So, I hope after reading this, you can find yourself smiling. I hope you can finish this will a little extra happiness fluttering inside of you. I hope that you know just how great you are and I hope you pass it on! Everyone needs to know! We're all so wonderfully magical!

You can say that Christmas is magical all you want, and it is, but without us humans, it's just another day. The magic flows within us! We're the stories, the fun, the laughter, and everything else in between. So, go forth and be your happy, beautiful, magical self.

I wish you and your family a wonderful holiday and a much happier new year. And please, don't forget how much you rock!

Skye Marin

happiness
2

About the Creator

S. G. Marin

I'm optimistic, married, a mom, a writer, a reader, an artist. Being only thirty years young, I want to be a published author when I grow up. I hope to help heal the world with my words, for they are quite powerful when used correctly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.