Motivation logo

8 Things That Will Cheer You Up

You're in control.

By Amanda DoylePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by @phammi on unplash.com

Admit it, you feel like shit sometimes.

It's not something you can control, really. However, you can control what you do when you're in a bad mood. I have a hard time with this, distracting myself when things get hard. Here are some things you can do when you're in a bad mood.

Watch something lighthearted

When you're down in the dumps, it never hurts to put on a funny movie or show that will cheer you up and make you feel better. Some funny movies include: Clueless, Click, and Bruce Almighty. Some funny shows include: Brooklyn 99, Friends, and That 70s Show. By the time you've watched the film or a few episodes, you should be feeling a little better.

Take a shower or bath

Something that helps me and a lot of people I know is to take a nice shower or bath when you're feeling down. The water is calming, it's nice and warm - and if you're angry, just make it cold to cool you down. If you're taking a bath, add something scented to use DIY aromatherapy.

Play a video game

When you're in a video game, you have to focus. If you can focus on something, try putting on your favourite video game to force you to think about something else. Don't put on something sad or scary, make sure it's a fun and happy game. I like to play The Sims 4.

Listen to upbeat music

I made a mood playlist for when I'm feeling down. It has all my favourite songs, and I can easily access it and listen to it whenever I'm sad. I suggest you do the same, and if you have a lot of favourite songs that are sad, try making a playlist specifically for songs that are guaranteed to make you feel good.

Talk to someone

I bet you know how nice it feels to get it all out. We all know that feeling of after you've vented, and everything is said, and you can breathe and relax. Talk to someone you trust about the way you're feeling. Maybe they will have some advice on how to make your mood better. Maybe they will cheer you up themselves. Either way, it's a win-win.

Write in a journal

You don't have to write about anything specific, but just get the words out, even if you can't say them. Putting something on paper helps you see it so much clearer. Write poems, songs, or journal entries about how you feel and you should see an improvement in your mood after you're done.

Draw or colour

Go back to being a kid again and grab your favourite colouring utensils. I like to use thin markers or pencil crayons to colour in adult colouring books. If you don't like to do that, you can try doodling on paper. Mindless doodles is such an easy way to get out a bit of stress and cheer you up.

Exercise

I know you're tired of hearing it, but getting your body moving can help your mood immensely. Go for a walk around the block or go to the gym to work out on a machine. If you have access to a pool, swimming is a great exercise because it gets your body moving while also subjecting you to water, which can calm you down.

That's all I have! If you've liked these tips, read some of my other articles because I write about similar things all the time! Thank you so much for reading, try to stay positive out there. I know it's hard right now, but I also know you can do it.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Doyle

Currently in my "figuring it the hell out" era.

Big believer in everything happening for a reason, second chances, and the fact that we're living in a simulation.

Check out my podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/semimindfulbanter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.