Motivation logo

52 Contests

Unleashing Creative Potential, One Challenge at a Time!

By Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17Published 4 months ago 4 min read
3
52 Contests
Photo by Katja Anokhina on Unsplash

Day 18/366 Days of writing and publishing pieces in 2024.

Towards the end of 2023, I found myself reflecting on the fruitful year I had and contemplating what I aspire to achieve in the coming year. As I looked back on the past few years, I couldn't help but recall the words I had chosen to guide me through each year. In 2021, my chosen phrase was "creative expression," and as the year drew to a close, I made a promise to myself to reconnect with my art and resume painting. In 2022, I secured a part-time job at an art studio, which allowed me to fulfill that promise.

For 2022, my word/phrase was "receiving mode," as I aimed to embrace my feminine energy and step away from my masculine energy, thereby flexing those dormant muscles. And indeed, I succeeded in doing just that. As 2023 began, my phrase of choice became "quantum leap." Recently, I took a moment to reflect upon whether I had truly experienced a quantum leap last year. While the physical manifestations of this leap may not have fully materialized yet, I firmly believe that I underwent a significant shift in my mindset. I now entertain thoughts that were previously unimaginable to me, possessing a stronger belief in myself, heightened confidence, and an expanded sense of what is possible.

Thus, I found myself asking, "What would my higher, more elevated self do in 2024 to continue ushering in the physical manifestations of quantum leaping? What word or phrase should define my journey in 2024?" In November of 2023, I enrolled in hula hoop dance teacher training—a program that spans three to six months. I pitched the idea to the owner of the wellness studio where I work as a personal trainer and life coach, and she generously funded my participation. Shortly after, I stumbled upon an online hula hoop competition that required video submissions by midnight that very night. Although I am not yet an expert, I found myself performing tricks I had only learned two weeks prior, and I thought to myself, “Fuck it. Why not?”

Earlier that day, I struggled to hula hoop in both directions around my waist, but by evening, I had mastered the skill. The competition ignited a fire within me, propelling me to improve my abilities at a rapid pace. I submitted my video, detached from the outcome, and then it hit me: a true quantum leaper puts themselves out there in audacious and grandiose ways. And now, armed with my newfound quantum leap mindset, I had an idea. What if, in 2024, I committed to entering one contest per week for 52 weeks, utilizing my creativity, skills, and talents? Just imagine the possibilities. How many more eyes could I attract to my work? How many more doors would swing open? Who would I become in the process?

In November, I made a decision. Why wait until 2024? I entered a hula hoop competition, a writing challenge, and two art contests all within a single week. Winning is not my primary focus; in fact, it hardly crosses my mind. My focus lies in the fact that this endeavor serves as the catalyst for the physical manifestation of my quantum leap. My word for 2024 is "Resonance," and my goal is to enter 52 contests—one per week. Throughout this journey, the only thing that truly matters to me is that the energy propelling me forward stems from a place of “relentless resonance”. To me, this represents a creative force that perfectly marries masculine and feminine energies, allowing me to authentically reveal my true creative expression to the world. And in my view, this is the ultimate recipe for quantum leaping.

It’s been such a great learning experience so far and I can’t wait to see how it unfolds. I think the thing I’ve enjoyed most so far is getting DMs with other people telling me I’ve inspired them. Friends have entered writing contests, photo competitions, and all kinds of other competitions. I’ve also won a few awards which has been a really nice unexpected surprise.

In 2024, I crave more. Let us embark on this journey together. Who's ready to join me?

If you found this piece interesting, please consider leaving a 💜 or even a tip. Your support means a lot to me as a writer! You can also read more of my work here. My goal is to publish one a day during 2024!

goals
3

About the Creator

Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17

Multidimensional Creative-preneur

Life Coach, Personal Trainer, Artist, Writer. Formerly in restaurant business for 3 decades. Soul expression is my ❤️ language. Spirituality,music, art, food and creativity fuel my life. IG @jenergy17

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Marguerite Brown4 months ago

    💜 Very interesting read. Well-constructed.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.