Motivation logo

500 Words A Day, Everyday

Developing Writing Habits

By Misha AlslebenPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
photo from unsplash

Growing up; finding or maintaining a career in writing wasn't encouraged.

Then again, marrying rich was encouraged so maybe, taking advice from my family was never a good idea, to begin with.

Either way, as I got older, the man who I dated and then later became my husband encouraged me to follow my passions, wants' and desires, and now I chase them unapologetically. I have several online articles published, a self-published book, and a completed manuscript that is in editing. I love those accomplishment's and while I don't have thousands of readers and I'm not "Famous". I am happy.

Every time I create a piece of writing I am bettering my craft and I want to encourage others to do the same.

I have two kids and COVID like for many put a kink in our routine. I was supposed to get a regular job this last year and that didn't happen. What has happened though has been some wonderful memories, extra family time, a new appreciation for things we had begun to take for granted and I have created things that I am proud of.

A huge problem I have that I think many others may relate to is that I enjoy many things. So while I love writing I also truly love cooking and I enjoy photography. I also just recently opened a small handmade jewelry business but before that and COVID I was a professional cake decorator. I love and enjoy all these things though but at the end of it, all that I love and find relaxing and want to push myself to do is writing.

I'm not perfect and my editing needs work but, I figure I will never get better at it if I don't put forth the effort.

Free classes and courses in English and writing or creative writing help heaps but one thing overall that I have found that helps me most is one fairly simple habit.

Writing every day. Even if it isn't much, even if I don't love every word or I need to go back over it and edit it. Writing every day or nearly every day and making that time for myself and my creative needs.

I get busy. I forget to eat lunch or breakfast somedays because mom life and wife life and just life, in general, gets hectic sometimes. So making time to write isn't always. Sometimes it's grueling. Pulling myself out from under my warm blanket to be greeted with icy air and cold floors as I make my way to my computer just to sting my eyes with the screen to try and make my word goal before the kids wake up or staying up an extra 30 minutes more than I should get it in for the day I need to do it. If I don't I let it go. Then I let it go another day than another and pretty soon it's been a week since I've written anything let alone a simple word goal of 500 words.

500 Words. Every Day. 5 days a week minimum.

Your word goal can be different. However, this is a great rule to live by to keep you writing. You can also use this formula to write a novel.

Author Rebecca Schuman has tweeted that 500 words a day were her policy, suggesting it as a workable pace for any writer working on a long-term project. She called it the 5-5-5 rule: 500 words a day or five pages of edits, five days a week.

Some Other Tip's To Keep You Writing :

Create a Writing Space- A Well lit comfortable space that has everything you need to write and get out that first draft or any ideas

photo from unsplash

Change your environment - Sometimes getting out of your usual writing spot can help you imagine up some great ideas or help get your project finished.

photo from unsplash

Create a playlist - Some writers find playlists helpful when writing either for scene or character development. Though listening to classical music or hand-pan music has been known to just be generally relaxing and enjoyable while working on any piece of writing. You can find playlists here to inspire making and creating your own.

Join A Writer's Group - Rather local or digital writer's groups are wonderful places to be able to not only share your writing but participate in writing prompts and challenge's

photo from unsplash

Set Goal's - Setting short term goals helps too. Think of them as mini deadline's. Example "I will write chapter 2 by the end of the week and edit chapter 1 next week"

photo from unsplash

Don't Forget Break's - It's ok to have a daily goal or a deadline but don't forget to take breaks between writing projects or during writing. Sometimes it can be hard to stop but you don't want to write for 9 or 12 hours then be burnt out the next day or for the next week. Taking breaks , frequently stretching to prevent neck and back pain and remembering to hydrate while giving your eyes a break is also as important as developing habits to keep you writing.

photo from unsplash

Take A Writer's Day /Weekend - If its something do-able for you take a day or a weekend for yourself as a writer. Have coffee at a cute bistro, grab lunch at a waterfront café, rent a Airbnb or find a cute hotel you like and don't mind paying for. Use your free time to write and create or use it to relax to refuel for writing when you return. Being a mom a retreat like this would take planning but in the end I do plan to do something like this soon. Perhaps I'll make it a family thing and just make sure there's plenty for the kids to do at a lake house or something but it definitely seems like a need to do thing for any writer if they can do so.

photo from unsplash

Overall just remember to follow your dreams, passions and develop habits or take chance's that help you obtain happiness through those things. Immerse yourself in your favorite authors when you need inspiration brainstorm ideas, edit without mercy and have fun.

photo from unsplash

how to
1

About the Creator

Misha Alsleben

Wife & Mom Fueled by ;

Caffeine & Gratitude, when I’m not writing you’ll find me raising awareness about our planet’s needs , in the kitchen ,outside with the family, taking photos or in a bookstore.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.