Motivation logo

5 Simple Ways to Motivate Yourself

and Keep Your Sanity

By Jaymie SuhPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Olena Sergienko on Unsplash

Motivation is key if you feel like you are dealing with everyday life as if it’s “deja vu”. Working from home can get boring especially if you don't have that much human interaction. You need to make sure that the moment you feel like your current situation is starting to make you feel down, you have to do something about it.

I feel so alone whenever I wake up at night and start writing. Yes, I work at night since I feel more productive when I know that I own the night. Without hearing the noises during daytime, it is the perfect working schedule for me.

But it can get lonely at times since I am left alone with my thoughts. Although it is the most productive time for me, I have to deal with it.

Sounds familiar?

Motivating yourself is not as easy as it sounds. You will feel down most of the time, especially if you work alone. It is one common issue for people who work at home.

Since most of the time, you’re on your own in your home office. It is hard to entertain yourself especially if your job is repetitive. It can get boring but then you have to keep on working.

5 Tips to Motivate Yourself

1. Listen to Music

If you are a writer, it is best to listen to inspirational music. You can have your playlist so that you just need to play it whenever you start working.

It may vary depending on your tasks. But soft music won’t hurt since you have to concentrate on your job. Music can uplift and inspire you at the same time.

2. Allow Yourself to Access Social Media

I don’t usually open any social media accounts but when it gets really lonely, I check my wall from Facebook. That’s my way to still know what’s up with my friends.

Sometimes I chat with other friends who are also working online. That way, I can get to still talk to someone even virtually. It takes away the stress of working on my own.

3. Decorate Your Work Space

Since it is your home office anyway, you are free to decorate it whichever way you like. Don’t get stuck to the usual office type like you used to have from your job in a company.

Make it fun and colorful if you like. Let your imagination go wild so that you will really feel that you are really free from the usual set up. I usually work at my dining table since I feel more freedom at a long table.

4. Take Time to Read

Sometimes it only takes one good article for you to read to lift your mood up. Try to find motivational quotes or articles about working as a freelancer. It can help you cope with loneliness.

There are so many motivational quotes that I personally like from Pinterest. It helps me relate to it and feel inspired afterwards.

5. Change Your Surroundings

It may be because you have been staying too long inside the house. Most of the work from home people I know tend to even just have their food delivered. They no longer want to even go out for anything.

Spare you sanity and don’t do it in a regular manner. As humans, we still need to go out to enjoy the sunshine. We need to change our surroundings from time to time. You can try working in co-working spaces or even from the park.

Conclusion

Working at home or being a freelancer is not for everyone. Other people will change their minds and decide to go back to the corporate world without even giving it enough time to let great things happen. Being an entrepreneur can be hard especially if you are used to being a corporate slave. But remember that you are the boss now and you can handle anything.

For those who were able to survive the tough times, Congratulations for making it this far! Just always remember that you are not alone. Seek some needed attention from your friends or family right away if you feel the sadness creeping in. Always remember the reason why you even chose this path in the first place.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Jaymie Suh

A highly regarded writer known for her insightful and engaging content. With a passion for storytelling and a talent for crafting compelling narratives, she has made a significant impact in the world of online writing and content creation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.