Motivation logo

5 Simple Practices for a Healthier

Ensuring good health: eat less, breathe more, live healthier, stay happy and maintain interest in life.

By Arya SharmaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
5 Simple Practices for a Healthier
Photo by Emma Simpson on Unsplash

Ensuring good health: eat less, breathe more, live healthier, stay happy and maintain interest in life. ”~ William Londen

Who does not want to be healthy and happy?

We often focus on one thing and not another and wonder why we do not achieve this. We ignore the fact that life and happiness often go hand in hand.

I spent my youth trying to lose weight because I thought that being thin was the key to happiness.

I have spent twenty years neglecting my health, abusing my body, and seeking happiness in further relationships and my position at work. And I got sick.

For thirty years, I sought inner harmony in my spiritual habits, but I hid my feelings by overeating.

At the end of forty years, I realized that life and happiness are not so difficult, but they do not come from one aspect of our lives. Not from your dream job, your ideal weight, or the right relationship.

Each of these fulfills a single aspect - physical, mental, emotional or spiritual. Ignore one and create a gap. And adjust the other one, such as your physical health, and you will end up unbalanced again.

Remembering the weight loss, I threw away my emotional and spiritual cracks. When I lost my job, I was paying attention to my physical health. Now, I focus on all sides with a few simple ways of life.

You can achieve a healthier and happier life without feeling frustrated. The following five steps will help you along the way.

1. Eat small meals.

So you think, what does it mean to eat less? Sounds awkward and impossible, doesn't it?

I used to think so. I even tried.

Learning how yoga has a food philosophy, depending on how food affects our minds, changed my life.

Sattvic Foods develop mental clarity, lightness, and spiritual light. Tamasic diet and overeating create a dull, heavy mind. And rajasic foods make us anxious, very anxious, and anxious.

Sattvic's diet includes seasonal fruits and vegetables, whole grains, and organic animal products. Eat this, and you will not feel heavy or dull. Limit processed, old, and tamasic foods and leave you feeling depressed and confused. Use rajasic foods with caution - when you need a perk, drink coffee, a little candy, or spices.

And eat sensibly by digging a little deeper. Are you really hungry? Are you filling in the blanks? Or maybe just a procrastination? Eat before you go hungry, and you will never know when you will be full.

Learn to eat a little more clearly for mental and physical health, and you will feel better than you ever thought possible.

2. Breathe out loud.

Breathing is your gateway to a calm, clear mind.

Deep breathing creates space in the body and mind, strengthens your immune system, and reduces inflammation. I have seen hundreds of yoga students experience less pain, better sleep, and less anxiety due to easier breathing exercises.

The veteran student turned down her cortisone injections because deep breathing and a simple yoga chair helped her tremendously. His lawyer reported, “I was devastated because he had been a constant challenge because of his pain. You are in one of those situations where you wonder how you can help with such a horrible case of chronic pain… and then yoga! ”

Feel the benefits of deep breathing in the following simple ways:

Lie on your back with your knees bent and your feet planted on the floor, hip width apart. Insert a heavy book into your abdomen between the bottom of your ribs and the belly button. Insert, and then raise the book to the ceiling. As you exhale, relax your stomach. Repeat this 20 times.

Sit straight down or in a chair, place your hands on the sides of your ribs, and move your ribs into your hands. Keep the area between your ribs relaxed. Imagine that your lungs are inflating like a balloon as you inhale and exhale as you exhale. Now double-count your smell. If you smell four, take out eight.

Practice a few times a week, and create a relaxed, deep pattern for breathing and a calm mind.

3. Live a balanced life.

Can you tell the difference between needs and desires? We need basic necessities like food, shelter and transportation. But we want more expensive clothes and fancy cars.

Satisfying desires is not fun, and a lot of things create a lot of work. Because if you have a lot of books, clothes, gadgets and cars you have, you have to worry more about it. People in your life bring you more love than you have.

Recently, I felt like I was drowning in my own mess. I checked all my clothes. If I didn't wear something for a year and didn't like to wear it, goodbye. I gave clothes to friends, some of which was left at Goodwill's. The same process with books. Letting go of property disturbed my mind and home.

Each day you are given a lot of options. Do you eat outdoors or do you cook at home? Are you buying a new style of yoga pants?

Find a nice place where you have enough to satisfy your basic needs but don't overdo it to satisfy the desires. Your body needs nutritious food, which it does not need. Of course, it's good to have a meal with friends at your favorite restaurant sometimes. But eating out regularly is not necessary; it is a desire.

Your body needs daily physical activity. But does it require extra exercise? And is this something you're going to keep?

Balance may not be as excessive, but it is better for your long-term health.

4. Cultivate joy.

“Between motivation and response, there is a gap. In that space our ability to choose our answer. Our answer lies in our growth and our freedom. ”~ Viktor E. Frankl

Frankl was imprisoned in WWII concentration camps in Nazi Germany, where most of his family members died. During his ordeal, he realized that his captors would not take away his ability to know himself. He could decide for himself what to do with his experience.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.