Motivation logo

5 Signs Your Life Is Destined For Bigger Things

Success is right around the corner. Are you ready to take the bull by its horns and do the work to reach your goals?

By Chrissie Marie MasseyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
5 Signs Your Life Is Destined For Bigger Things
Photo by Eye for Ebony on Unsplash

We all strive to live a fulfilled life. We crave for our lives and professions to matter to those around us. Some people seem to fall into a grove and reach success immediately, while others struggle to reach their goals.

Just because you haven’t found success doesn’t mean you won’t reach your goals. Some of us (myself included) need to feel inspired and passion for what we do.

I spent over 10 years feeling stuck in a profession I despised. I felt rundown and numb. I didn’t want to be a soap opera blogger. I wanted to write about topics that mattered to people. I found my voice, but it wasn’t easy. It took guts, motivation, and passion. Below are five signs that greatness will find you.

1. You Wait To Feel Inspired

Some people allow themselves to being pushed into doing something they don’t want to do. I’ve been that person. When I stopped writing about soap operas and stepped down as the editorial director, I took a job I knew I would hate.

My job was creating blog content for a personal injury attorney. The articles were boring and would take me hours to write a 300 word blog. I hated writing and considered quitting all together. But it wasn’t writing I hated, it was writing about law. I just needed to wait for the right niche to find me.

Some people may see the act of waiting to feel inspired as procrastination, but sometimes, it’s smart. Unless you feel inspired, your readers will not take your writing seriously.

By Markus Winkler on Unsplash

2. A Typical Workday Isn’t Right For You

A sure sign you are on the right path is unwillingness to commit to a 9–5 workday. Sure, you may work a day job, but those committed to improving their life often will take on side jobs in the evenings or nights.

They realize punching the clock won’t help them reach their goals. They build a business when not working and hope eventually they will make a decent living off their work.

3. You Need To Feel Passion For Your Work

This one is huge for me. I made a great living writing about soaps. I had it made when I added editing to the mix. I made nearly 100K per year for several years. But it wasn’t enough.

I needed to feel passion about my work. I didn’t care what Victor Newman was doing anymore. Let’s face it, he was always up to some type of shenanigans. I wanted to feel proud of my work.

I broke free and concentrated on sharing my life with my readers. I felt a passion for crime and current events. I felt these things mattered to my readers. But stepping out of my comfort zone was not easy. Sometimes, it still is difficult. I have gotten comfortable being uncomfortable.

By Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

4. You Have Too Many Ideas In Your Head

When you look at successful people, they are usually creative. They have many ideas on how to make a path to reaching their goals. Often they will have a game plan for anything life throws at them.

I currently have 59 drafts with titles on Medium. I read them daily and pick one that inspires me. I have a never-ending list in my head of things I’d like to share with my readers. I still want to write my novel.

If you are the type who has an endless supply of ideas, that is one of the biggest signs you will reach your goals one day. Just keep the course. One of those ideas will help you reach the success you crave.

5. You Want The Best

If you look at successful people, you will notice they have one thing in common — they want their family and loved ones to have the best. It drives them to accomplish their goals.

They won’t settle for something just because it is good enough. They want to be the best in the industry.

When I started writing for Medium in September, I heard the horror stories about how hard it was to reach 100 followers and make $100. I knew I didn’t want to just shoot for that; I wanted more.

I aimed for 1,000 followers and enough money to pay bills. I wanted my husband to see my writing mattered. It only took me four months to reach that.

We all can succeed in life. We just have to be ready to do the work to get there. If you experienced any of these signs, your life could be on the right path to reach your goals.

***

Originally published on Medium.

success
Like

About the Creator

Chrissie Marie Massey

Chrissie has spent the last 20 years writing online for several major news outlets. When not writing, you’ll find her watching a Lifetime movie, wearing her favorite PJs with a frozen soda in hand.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.