Motivation logo

5 Of My Favorite Autumn Quotes

Reflecting on the Season’s Wisdom Through Five Quotes

By DaphsamPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
5
Author's Photo

I love reading and reflecting on quotes. they inspire and motivate me to do better in this world. I have a quote book that sits on my desk and when the mood strikes, I open the pages and go through to find the one that speaks to me. Autumn is a time for reflection and one of my favoirte seasons. So I would like to share with your some of my top five favorite quotes and give a little reflection of how it impacts me.

My top five autumn quotes

“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.”

- L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

October brings pumpkin spice lattes, winds that carry scents of pine cones, campfires, and a sense of new beginnings on the horizon. Venturing out with my warm wool sweater to find the perfect pumpkin that will sit outside my home with other beautiful gourds never ages. October gives everyone a chance to be a kid and have some candy, get into the spooky, and just be playful.

“Listen! The wind is rising, the air is wild with leaves, We have had our summer evenings, for October eves!” — Humbert Wolfe

The sounds of October are one of my favorites. It’s an autumn symphony of rustling leaves, tings of acorns on the rooftop, and whistles of winds through the trees. Sitting back and listening to the crackles of the fire rolling in the fireplace infuses tranquilly and calm into my soul. Even with the quivering leaves on the trees it adds to the sense of eeriness synonymous with October.

“I want to age the way that life makes you age, because there’s beauty in autumn and winter and I think people forget that.” -Helen Baxendale

The beauty of aging naturally is a skill. It is all in the way one perceives it. To be able to embrace all of the seasons and find that spark of beauty within each is a gift. Each season is a cycle, and like the cycle of life, there is birth, growth, maturity, and death. To embrace and accept all is to stay in the present moment and will give tranquility to your life.

“Autumn carries more gold in its pocket than all the other seasons.” — Jim Bishop

So true! Every year, I take my camera in my hand and walk outside to see how many shades of gold I can capture. The breathtaking view of nature’s canvas before me always leaves me in awe. It’s like a gift from Mother Nature, who turns her canvas around on her easel. We are the spectators of this masterpiece.

“Fall colors are funny. They’re so bright and intense and beautiful. It’s like nature is trying to fill you up with color, to saturate you so you can stockpile it before winter turns everything muted and dreary.”–Siobhan Vivian.

The watercolor artist in me wants to soak in all the vibrant hues and store them up in my painter’s toolbox. It will be my art challenge to see if I can mix those colors up and create magic on the watercolor paper the way it looks outside my window. I appreciate the colors and hold them close so when it turns a cold slate gray outside, I can recall the shades of rust reds, oranges, and golds. What a time to celebrate color before the winter!

What autumn quotes stands out for you? Do you have a quote about autumn that is inspirational to you? Share in the comments as I would love to hear your thoughts.

This was originally published on Medium.

self helpquoteshappiness
5

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Sam The Doula (Blooming Miracle)5 months ago

    These are great! I'm so glad Anne was at the top. I hoped she would be. Autumn is my favourite :-D xx

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Wonderful piece. I love the quotes and your take on what they mean to you. Fave is “Autumn carries more gold in its pocket than all the other seasons.” — Jim Bishop.

  • Andrea Corwin 6 months ago

    I love this: "The sounds of October are one of my favorites. It’s an autumn symphony of rustling leaves, tings of acorns on the rooftop, and whistles of winds through the trees." I live in Starbucks land, and they have not yet converted me to the pumpkin spice, LOL. The quote by Siobhan Vivian is fabulous and so true! I look forward to seeing your watercolors within your stories.

  • Mason Darnielle6 months ago

    the way you reply to each quote is better than the quote itself :) Very awesome work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.