Motivation logo

5 Books That Changed My Life

A guide to the most powerful books

By Augmented ManPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Nadia Chiesi from Pexels

Yes, I have been reading books since I was a child and I am still reading them. Nothing makes me happier than finding a good book to keep me busy for a few days. I’ve been reading books ever since I was little, and they still make me happy. Here are some of the most influential books in my life that have changed how I think about the world:

1. The Art of War by Sun Tzu

This book on ancient military strategy by a Chinese general from the 6th century B.C.E. was a constant inspiration for me. The rules it sets out are timeless and very useful knowledge for every digital artist. The first time I read it was when I was in high school, and since then I have read it many times. It still fascinates me. My strategy is a rule-based life and I try to prove it to everything I do in life and art. Sun Tzu says: “To guard against the interior and safeguard the surface is the secret of a strong army.”

2. The Prince by Nicolo Machiavelli

The book is a masterpiece of the political theory of the Italian statesman who lived in Florence at the end of the 15th century. The ideas he presents are still very useful. The book teaches how to cheat, manipulate and use people if necessary, using cunning and evil. I know it may seem cynical, but think about the knowledge that has been used by those in power for centuries. Machiavelli teaches you how to achieve your goals by all necessary means. This is a must-read for anyone who is creative and doesn’t want to be manipulated

3. The Art of Seduction by Robert Greene

There are plenty of rules that have been tried and true for centuries. Now some people complain that this book is a guide on being a sociopath. If you approach the matter from a perspective of always triumphing, in that case, yes. This is that, but the reality is that you should take note of these tactics and employ them piecemeal to succeed in seduction and creating art. You can use these insights for good also. This is a fascinating read that explains the art of seduction in great detail. The book is a work of fiction but it teaches you how to seduce art and actually, anyone you want. After reading this, I realize how many principles I have intentionally put into my art most strangely.

4. The 48 Laws of Power by Robert Greene

Good manners stem from good intentions, but you can’t do good all the time. This book offers a guide on how to use your power to get what you want, both socially and in art. The book also teaches people how to protect themselves from the abuse of power. I think this is a great thing for the digital artist because he must know how to use his art and create masterpieces without being abused by bad people. I recommend it as a must-read.

5. The Book of Five Rings by Miyamoto Musashi

The Book of Five Rings is a book on military and strategic techniques, written by a Japanese samurai Musashi Miyamoto in 1645. It’s a straightforward guide that tells you how to fight with the sword. I read this book as a child but I never applied all of its teachings in my art and life. I know this book is very old school but it is very inspiring, especially if you want to master the art of swordsmanship.

I’ve read a lot of books on philosophy, science fiction, and mythology.

I also love novels that reflect great thoughts about human behavior, especially those by Charles Bukowski. I often use this quote: “All art is prostitution for money; the trouble is only who gets paid.”

As a digital artist, I’m living in the information age. Every day we get to know new things, technologies, and tools. Although you must always keep in mind not to be lazy about creating your style of art, you have to use ideas from other artists so that you can understand them better and consider their good ideas. The series of books I mentioned above teach me how to think, how to see the world, and how to use my imagination. The books are a great source of inspiration and these timeless ideas are an amazing help for creative people.

The way I feel about this article is that it leaves you with a feeling of hope: “That’s why we’re constantly learning how to be better artists and creators. It is never easy, but with patience, the more you learn, the easier it becomes.”

book review
Like

About the Creator

Augmented Man

#artinDATAspace

https://twitter.com/AugmentedMan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.