Motivation logo

4 Reasons New Years Eve is Overrated

Hate NYE? You’re not alone

By Aunty SalPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1
Images: courtesy of Pexels

Hello, my name is Sal and I don’t like New Years Eve.

The first step toward my recovery from this issue was admitting that I have a problem with it. Don’t get me wrong; I had a really good crack at becoming a New Years Eve person, many a time. I even learnt all the words to ‘Auld Lang Syne’ which incidentally, is a waste of time because everyone is usually shit-faced by the time that song comes on. I've definitely made a solid effort to embrace the evening over the years, I've had the hangovers to prove it.

I'm not sure how my distain for the occasion developed. Could it be the ageing process? An allergy? Or perhaps I've just become a weird recluse. In any case, for the last seven years, I have actively NOT celebrated NYE and have not regretted it for a moment. I’m very much out of the ‘I loathe NYE' closet! And, it would seem I'm far from alone. Here are some of the common reasons the night may not be your cup of tea either:

1. One is expected to enjoy themselves

This one shits me to tears. Thankfully, nobody has ever held a gun to my head and demanded that I enjoy the evening; However, there seems to be a collective energy beckoning one to throw caution to the wind, let go and fun - Plus, you can feel like a knob for killing other people’s buzz. Personally, I am becoming increasingly worse at forced festivities – the last time I danced at a party, it was because I was cold and had forgotten my jacket; Another time, I snuck out of a party to browse in the Kmart home decor section. On a deeper level though, large gatherings of people can sometimes highlight feelings of isolation; grief or conflict that individuals might be feeling over the holidays – this time of year has a habit of making some of us regress and causes us to reflect on things that may not have gone so well for us. Please know that this is a normal thing to do at the end of the year, be gentle with yourself and loved ones that may seem a bit less festive. Don't beat yourself up for not having fun - do something that is enjoyable for YOU.

2. Hype and preparation

Where are you celebrating New Years? What are going to wear? Who else is going to be there? My eyes have usually glazed over at this point in the conversation. If the person asking these questions is able to reach me, they might receive a 'I dunno' at best.. I usually avoid leaving a 2km radius of my home on NYE. Ideally at home or at a mates' nearby so I don’t have to contend with inflated prices, absurd traffic or hectic Uber wars - much less spend the evening dreading my journey home being longer than the night itself. I often wonder if I’d be more social if I could teleport?

Last year my best girlfriend and I curled up on her couch and watched Bridget Jones 1 & 2. It was epic, thanks for asking! Seriously. I have so many memories of primping and planning for the evening, only to find that it’s over in the blink of an eye and that I’m left feeling deflated and under-whelmed. A low-key night takes the pressure off as expectations are removed. It’s also great to wake up fresh on New Years Day and be one of the first down at the beach with a coffee and a clear head.

3. Change and transition

I won’t argue with the fact that there is an undeniable sparkle in the air on New Years Eve, the year has come to a close and you are about to get a fresh start, new leaf – whatever you want to call it. It can feel like anything might be possible in the new year - this magic feeling is kind of nice, up until people start saying things like ‘May it be the best year yet!’ and ‘It’s going to be your year, I can just feel it!’ – that’s when the jinx happens – no sooner are the words said, the pressure and anticipation sets in (even if it is self imposed) the overhauls (lifestyle, career or otherwise) that you planned last year did not eventuate, how the f%@k are you going to pull them off next year? If you relate to this sort of thinking, you might be a bit like me. The last few NYE’s I’ve made a conscious effort to sit quietly during the day and reflect on what I’ve learnt that year, how I’ve grown and who/what has come into my life that I am grateful for and if I feel like it, I’ll write some intentions for the new year, I keep them somewhere I can see them regularly and check in with the intentions throughout the year. If it’s your thing, make a little ceremony of this; get your crystals out, burn sage, bang a drum – honour yourself and this occasion in a way that feels authentic to you.

4. The midnight kissing

To all those lovers who embrace the NYE midnight kiss, this writer means you no disrespect and is genuinely happy for you, may your love/lust/random stranger pash prosper and serve you well. Those who know me would agree that I have an inherit knack for being in the wrong place at the wrong time, on NYE this usually manifests with the countdown starting and me, nowhere to be seen. I might be in a port-a-loo, I might be helping a fellow reveller to said port-a-loo or on a provisions run to the servo - I am generally, not in close proximity to anyone I'd like to smooch. Or if I do get lucky, I'll cop a big sloppy one from some passing doofus who justifies his non-consensual kissing because it's new years bloody eve. Much like the previous points, this one can really highlight feelings of aloneness in or outside of a relationship. The midnight kiss might not even seem like that much of a thing to you, but in the moment, any emotions lurking below the surface can pop up rather quickly. The good news is, those feelings generally won’t always be a preview of your year ahead. Don’t read too much in to the ol’ tradition – its only meaning it holds is the one you assign to it. Or Y'know, just hide in a port-a-loo.

*******************************

Ultimately, nobody should tell you what to do with your NYE; I’m certainly not here to do that.

If you want to go out and paint the town red, by all means – DO IT and have a ripper! If you want to see the fireworks with your nearest and dearest , bring it on! And, if you’d like to treat the night like a total non-event and binge watch The Crown on Netflix with 3 bags of corn chips and no pants on, I support you wholeheartedly. If you plan to be in bed, fast asleep before the clock strikes midnight, that is just fine too.

Look after yourself and your needs this NYE – there’ll be another one next year. All the very best for the new year, whatever you’re doing – just be yourself. IG: @auntysal_aus

happiness
1

About the Creator

Aunty Sal

Social scientist trying her hand at writing. from NSW's Southern Highlands. Her areas of interest include addiction, codependency, family & relationship therapy, homelessness, health and just being a human >> IG @auntysal_aus

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.