Motivation logo

38 empowering quotes to fuel your writing journey

Inspiring Words from Literary Icon

By Yanger MollierPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like

Hello fellow writers, today I have meticulously curated a collection of 38 handpicked quotes (in no specific order) for writers that serve as a wellspring of inspiration. I trust that these carefully selected quotes will invigorate and embolden us to evolve as better writers each day. Without further ado, let us dive straight into the profound insights encapsulated within these quotes, without allowing time to elapse unnecessarily."

1. The scariest moment is always just before you start." - Stephen King

2. "Write what should not be forgotten." - Isabel Allende

3. "The first draft is just you telling yourself the story." - Terry Pratchett

4. "There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you." - Maya Angelou

5. "I write to give myself strength." - Joss Whedon

6. "Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on." - Louis L'Amour

7. "The role of a writer is not to say what we all can say, but what we are unable to say." - Anaïs Nin

8. "The art of writing is the art of discovering what you believe." - Gustave Flaubert

9. "I'm not a very good writer, but I'm an excellent rewriter." - James Michener

10. "Writing is an exploration. You start from nothing and learn as you go." - E.L. Doctorow

11. "Don't tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass." - Anton Chekhov

12. "If there's a book that you want to read, but it hasn't been written yet, then you must write it." - Toni Morrison

13. "There is no rule on how to write. Sometimes it comes easily, and sometimes it's like squeezing blood from a stone." - Margaret Atwood

14. "The most important thing is to read as much as you can, like I did. It will give you an understanding of what makes good writing and it will enlarge your vocabulary." - J.K. Rowling

15. "Writing is the painting of the voice." - Voltaire

16. "The first sentence can't be written until the final sentence is written." - Joyce Carol Oates

17. "You fail only if you stop writing." - Ray Bradbury

18. "Writing is the only thing that, when I do it, I don't feel I should be doing something else." - Gloria Steinem

19. "Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart." - William Wordsworth

20. "Good writing is remembering detail. Most people want to forget. Turn them into a story that tells the truth." - Paula Danziger

21. "Writing is the supreme solace." - W. Somerset Maugham

22. "Write what disturbs you, what you fear, what you have not been willing to speak about. Be willing to be split open." - Natalie Goldberg

23. "Writing is easy. All you have to do is cross out the wrong words." - Mark Twain

24. "The purpose of a writer is to keep civilization from destroying itself." - Albert Camus

25. "Writing is a struggle against silence." - Carlos Fuentes

26. "A writer is someone for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people." - Thomas Mann

27. "I can shake off everything as I write; my sorrows disappear, my courage is reborn." - Anne Frank

28. "Writing is a way of talking without being interrupted." - Jules Renard

29. "To survive, you must tell stories." - Umberto Eco

30. "A writer is someone who can make a riddle out of an answer." - Karl Kraus

31. "The road to hell is paved with adverbs." - Stephen King

32. "Write hard and clear about what hurts." - Ernest Hemingway

33. "If I waited for perfection, I would never write a word." - Margaret Atwood

34. "I don't need an alarm clock. My ideas wake me." - Ray Bradbury

35. "Words are a lens to focus one's mind." - Ayn Rand

36. "You can make anything by writing." - C.S. Lewis

37. "A word after a word after a word is power." - Margaret Atwood

38. "Writing is the beautiful part that you don't have to get right the first time, unlike, say, a brain surgeon." - Robert Cormier

Congratulations!! Now that you have reached the end of these empowering quotes, I would greatly appreciate it if you could kindly show your support by sharing your favorite quote in the comment section. Additionally, may I kindly remind you of the uplifting effect a smile can have as we persist in our writing endeavors. Let us continue our creative pursuits with enthusiasm and determination!

goalsself helpquotesadvice
Like

About the Creator

Yanger Mollier

By day, I illuminate the realms of physics, but my heart finds solace in the written word. As a passionate freelance writer, I embark on captivating journeys across diverse literary genres. Together, let's kindle imagination's symphony.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.