Motivation logo

30 Journal Entries to Self Discovery - Day 28

If you were given $50,000, what would you do with it?

By Michelle SchultzPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

Hey y'all! Welcome to day twenty-eight. *Insert feelings about how close we're getting to the end here.* I hope everyone's journal is packed with writing and notes from this journey and I hope it's getting hard to add more. Anyway, here's the quote of the day: "An opening line should invite the reader to begin the story. It should say: Listen. Come in here. You want to know about this." - Stephen King

DAY TWENTY-EIGHT: IF YOU WERE GIVEN $50,000 WHAT WOULD YOU DO WITH IT?

If I were given $50,000 I would pay off my student loans and with the last two dollars I would buy myself a taco from Taco Bell. Just kidding. Only slightly, but I'm just kidding. I'm actually doing okay at paying back my student loans. I would like them to disappear, but that isn't what I would do with $50,000.

If someone walked up to me and handed me a check for $50,000, no strings attached, I would ask them if they were insane. Then I would take it and run like hell. I would pay off my minor debts. It's not a lot. A couple credit cards and a medical bill that hangs over my head laughing at me, but nothing outrageous. Anyway, I would pay those down. Slowly, like $100 a month on each one so that I didn't pay it off all at once cause I heard that can actually hurt your credit score. I have no idea if it actually does, but I try my hardest not to hurt my credit score so I'll try this and hopefully it works.

With the other $45,000 I would pay my daughter's daycare for the rest of the year. I know this sounds crazy. Why would anyone waste their money paying a monthly bill that they should be used to paying by now? But my daughter's daycare cost more than the rest of my bills combined a month. It's basically like paying a second rent. No, it is like paying a second rent. I pay more for child care than I do for rent. Isn't that crazy? What is wrong with this country that child care cost so much? Oh well. Anyway, I would pay for a full year of child care so that I wouldn't have to worry about paying that bill for a whole year! I'd actually be able to put money in my savings account.

After paying off her day care for a whole year and paying off my smaller debts, I would have about $30,000 left. No, that's not an exaggeration. That is an accurate amount. I hope you all learned to never criticize another parent who needs assistance paying for child care. Thank you. Anyway, with my remaining $30,000 I would take about $20,000 and put it towards the down payment on a small house for my daughter and I. I know exactly what house, I've been watching it and praying for it for a year. So I would put my down payment down on it finally and cry massive tears of joy all over my new kitchen floor. (The kitchen is my go-to place when I want to joy cry.)

The last $10,000 would go into my daughter's investment account. I set up the account when she was born so that when she turns twenty-one she has money and can travel or buy a house or leave it to gain interest, whatever her heart desires at the time. But the last $10,000 should go to her. Obviously, not right now, she's two and doesn't understand what money is. But eventually, I want to make sure I have set up enough for her so that she has something to fall back on. If I'm not around, if I pass away one day, I want to make sure that she is financially taken care of.

I know these might all sound lame, but honestly, nothing would make me happier. I would be able to accomplish so much with $50,000. If anyone is giving away $50,000, I will gladly take it off your hands and send you thank you letters every month till the day I die. But until that magical moment, I will continue to work my ass off and hopefully get my bills down to something more manageable than they are now.

My thoughts: This question isn't for everyone. I think this question really depends on your age and your financial situation. Some people wouldn't discover anything new about themselves for the mere fact that to some, that isn't a lot of money. But, to the right person, this is a great question. Maybe just not a question for the masses.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Schultz

I'm mostly an editorial writer. I love to share my opinions and experiences. I don't hold back and I swear so if you take offense easily, my articles probably aren't for you. I'm a single mom just trying to stay sane.

@loreleismom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.