Motivation logo

30 Journal Entries to Self Discovery - Day 23

How Do I Define Intentional Living?

By Michelle SchultzPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hello! Happy day twenty-three! I hope all your journals are getting packed and your minds are getting filled with your discovery of yourself... I think that sentence made sense. I at least hope you're having fun with this. I am having a blast. I'm also learning a lot, and that's the whole point, right? Here's the quote of the day: "I hope someday to write something worth plagiarizing." - Unknown

DAY TWENTY-THREE: HOW DO I DEFINE INTENTIONAL LIVING?

The timing of this question is ironic. My grandma passed away last week. So life and the idea of why it's important came up, a lot. Her funeral was two days ago and the thought of intentional living crossed my mind while I was at her funeral and before and after. She lived a long, full life. That was apparent by the mass of family and friends that surrounded her the other day. She was so loved. She created so many memories with so many people. Seeing everyone there, sharing memories of her, that is my definition of intentional living.

My grandma had a big family. Seven kids, nineteen grandchildren, and twenty-one great-grandchildren. Also, the huge amount of friends she's made along the way and all her brothers and sisters. There was hardly room to move at the funeral home. That is definitely intentional living or at least some definition of it. She wasn't living for someone else, but she was creating life around her as she lived. She made this huge family and brought us all together to create relationships and memories with her and with each other. You didn't have a conversation with her without her bringing up how everyone you also knew was doing too. Her family was her life, in a way. That was beautiful. She created these awesome, individual, relationships with everyone around her. That's how I define intentional living. Creating the best moments with every person you get the chance to.

I hope that when I go my funeral is something like that. That might be a morbid statement. What I mean to say is, intentional living is making relationships: friendships, marriage, children, pets. Obviously, I don't think that's the only way to live, but that's the way I want to live. It hasn't always been. I used to want to isolate myself completely and become super successful in my job and call that intentional living. And I believe that that is also a definition of intentional living for some people. However, I want to explore the world and my career still, but with my friends and family. I want to create memories with people. I want to be surrounded by everyone I know and care about when I go. I want to create such an outstanding life that everyone is standing at my funeral talking about how awesome I am and all the crazy memories they have with me.

I want to create a family. Not just have a family; create a family. I want to make a house where my kids are excited to come and bring their friends. Where no one is scared to talk to me; a judgment-free zone in the most welcoming way. Maybe not the step ford wife thing, but more like a home for everyone. I want to create a house where everyone feels welcome and loved. That to me is intentional living. A beautiful life with beautiful people.

My thoughts: This was a great question. It really made me look back at my life and how much my idea of intentional living has changed over the years. I think this question really makes you look in at yourself. Great self-discovery question, however, I think this question should've been placed earlier on in the self-discovery journal journey.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Schultz

I'm mostly an editorial writer. I love to share my opinions and experiences. I don't hold back and I swear so if you take offense easily, my articles probably aren't for you. I'm a single mom just trying to stay sane.

@loreleismom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.