Motivation logo

3 Affirmations to Get You Through Even The Hardest Times

And how they can propel you to achieve your full potential

By Jordan MendiolaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

Daily affirmations, your beliefs, your values, and everything in between are what set you apart from everyone else.

Without core values established, you lack an identity within yourself.

I have three affirmations that help me get through tough times and stay on course. I will share these with you in hopes of helping provide some inspiration and positivity.

We all need a bit of a mindset shift in hard times and these three affirmations should alleviate some of your stress and pain.

1. “Failure is part of the road to success.”

So many people look at failure as something that defines them rather than a bump in the road. It’s damaging to think you’re a failure when things don’t go your way.

When I first started running, I would get gassed and tell myself that I could never run long distances. I was more of a sprinter who was known for my speed and not my endurance.

After nearly a year of 3–5 runs per week, I had run four half-marathons and my story was mentioned in the newspaper. Completing the race was the goal, and the newspaper feature was a bonus.

No one is going to make you believe that you’re doing fine, you have to tell yourself that.

The road to “success” (whatever that may be for you) is going to have some peaks and valleys. When we hit our lows, we have to get back up on our feet and continue fighting.

Resiliency is a huge catalyst for anyone who’s ever achieved their goals.

We must resist the urge to look at failure as a bad thing. It’s better to adjust fire and head continue to march on in the direction we were intended to go.

2. “I am in control of how I think, feel, and behave.”

The less in control you feel, the more likely you’re going to feel helpless and entitled.

Mindset is a common theme in achieving your goals in life. If you tell yourself you suck, you could never achieve that, or that you can’t do it, it’s going to manifest you.

When I was deployed overseas, I initially had the mindset of “woe is me”. I felt like I had been dealt a bad card and that I wish I was back home. Instead of dwelling or being a Debbie Downer, I began blogging, created a deployment vlog, and had meaningful conversations with my unit.

In AP Psychology, my teacher taught us about learned helplessness, a condition in which a person suffers from a sense of powerlessness, arising from a traumatic event or persistent failure to succeed. It is thought to be one of the underlying causes of depression.

The moment you feel helpless and that nothing could go right, you lose. You have to reassure yourself that you are in control of your life.

Are you unhappy with your boss? Confront him or her, tell them your needs and expectations and resolve any issues. If that doesn't work then you could always look for new opportunities.

Most people feel “stuck” and that they can’t stand up for what they believe in and stagnate for the rest of their lives.

The moment you begin taking charge and getting back into control, amazing things start to happen.

3. “I am able to shift my perspective so I can see the good in this situation.”

Perspective is crucial to any situation.

Some people get put into a sticky situation and only see the bad. But in every bad situation, there are at least one or two positives you can take away from it.

For example, if you got a speeding ticket from a police officer for going 40 miles per hour over the speed limit, then you’d probably feel like crap.

You could look at it as a positive that they stopped you and potentially saved your life from a dangerous accident. It could also be a sign that you’re rushing through life and stopping to smell the roses. One perspective is physical and the other is more abstract.

The point is that no matter how bad things may seem, there is either a positive lesson to take away, and things could always be worse.

I’m not saying it’s easy to brush off bad situations, but what I am saying is that you’re in control of your perspective and can find something good in everything.

Final Thought

A good mindset is the most important thing we can possess.

Without a good mindset, we break. We fall into a dark pit of hopelessness and it gets challenging to get back up onto our feet.

Utilize these three affirmations whenever you face conflict, and slowly watch your world begin to brighten up.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Jordan Mendiola

Jordan Mendiola is a horizontal construction engineer in the U.S. Army, Mendiola loves hands-on projects and writing inspirational blog posts about health, fitness, life, and investing.

linktr.ee/Jordanmendiola

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.