Motivation logo

2022 Bingo

A game of resolutions

By S. FrazerPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2

On the morning of December 31, 2021, I awoke to thoughts of my bingo board.

I had made it a year prior, at the end of 2020, a 5x5 grid of mostly far-fetched things that might happen in 2021. At the center, in the box typically labeled 'Free Space,' I had written, "I survive 2021."

As I reflected on the year, it was clear that my board had been a total bust. George R.R. Martin hadn't released his highly-anticipated Winds of Winter, Melania Trump hadn't left her husband, and I hadn't passed the bar exam. Out of the 25 predictions I'd made, only nine had come to pass.

But, I told myself, at least I can fill in the 'Betty White survives 2021' box.

😐

Most of the things on my 2021 bingo sheet had been outlandish predictions about politics and pop culture, events outside of my control and with little bearing on my life. For my 2022 board, I decided to set attainable goals for myself instead, things that I personally could accomplish over the course of the next twelve months.

On this year's board: furnishing my apartment, getting my booster shot, and reaching 25,000 views on Vocal. I want to take a solo trip, watch Hamilton, and get a new tattoo. And I want to read at least fifteen books.

I'm shooting for a little more than one book per month. In order to accomplish this, I've set a smaller goal for myself: I want to read ten pages every day.

Super easy, I know. But that’s what makes it a more relaxing endeavor, rather than a stress-inducing strain on my busy schedule. This goal is attainable, if I just make a conscious effort to set aside the few minutes each day to accommodate it.

Kicking off 2022 relaxed and optimistic, on New Year's Eve, I cut my hair, cleaned my room, took a long, hot shower with a eucalyptus and mint shower steamer, shaved my legs, applied a face mask, and, paying tribute to a beloved icon, threw on my favorite Golden Girls t-shirt. I spent the evening alone in my apartment putting up a Taylor Swift photo wall in my bedroom. All in all, a very pleasant, self-care-filled evening.

And before bed, I started David McCullough's 650-page biography of John Adams.

It was a gamble. Crucial to my success in accomplishing this year's reading goal will be book selection. My childhood love of reading was heavily curtailed by my high school curriculum, and I’ve struggled to find material that appeals to me ever since. I apprehensively selected this book unsure of whether it would hold my interest.

But so far, so good. I've far exceeded the 180 pages I should have read by now. I've missed a few days, but this resolution isn't about perfection. It's about taking smaller steps to reach a larger goal. While having broken a daily streak would normally bother me, I'm comfortable knowing that I still have eleven months to finish my fifteen books.

An unexpected benefit of reading before bed is that it's improved my sleep. Instead of watching Friends or scrolling through TikTok, I've been unwinding with a book, which relaxes me and gives me a sense of accomplishment that I wouldn't otherwise have before going to sleep. It also forces me to keep a more consistent schedule and make time to quiet my mind.

I’m approaching 2022 with positivity and self-compassion. I am going to let the soft animal of my body love what it loves, releasing the guilt and shame of the past and embracing the peace that I began to find in 2021. I'm going to reject that which does not serve me, accept that which I cannot change, and strive to treat myself with the same kindness and understanding that I afford to others.

This year's bingo board is off to a good start. I've already gotten my booster shot, and I'm prepping my apartment for a total makeover. I'm looking forward to getting back in the tattoo parlor, and I can't wait to start reading Song of Achilles. All in all, it looks like it's going to be a good year. I can't wait to see what else 2022 has in store.

goals
2

About the Creator

S. Frazer

She/her • 29 • Aspiring writer

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • shubham BRsoftech8 months ago

    If you are lookintg for games like bingo , visit BR Spftech for more. https://www.brsoftech.com/blog/games-like-bingo/

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.