Motivation logo

2020- Year of Abundance

Change is good.

By DenisseAlicePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

So I quit my job today. (cue in the rainbow and unicorns)

It was scary but peaceful if that makes any sense.

It feels surreal. As if this was all a dream.

A piece of me wants to freak out because I think that is how I should be feeling. But my confidence in my decision does not let me play with the thoughts of doubt that are trying its hardest to swallow me in.

Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

This is how I have felt for such a long time.

Drowning.

Drowning due to work I have no interest in it.

Drowning in the fear of disappointing others.

I grew tired of seeing myself gasped for air but only to get a mouthful of water.

I decided I was no longer going to sink or let my body lay limp.

I will fight for air. I will tell my arms and legs to paddle and beat against the water. I will push myself up. No longer will I allow the opinions and expectations of others to weigh me down.

Today is the day I made it up to the surface. I am no longer going against the current.

I have become one with it.

I am letting it guide me to my next destination.

I am no longer fearful or dreadful.

I am in control!

advice
Like

About the Creator

DenisseAlice

Live. Learn. Grow. Share

Life experiences make for great stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.